Skip to content

Last of Summer Berry Muffins

September 7, 2010

I don’t have a lot of words today*.  Just a quick recipe for those of you that might be lucky enough to still have some summer berries.

Raspberry Muffins
Adapted from Baking Illustrated (Blueberry Muffins)

  • 1 1/2 C Flour
  • 1/2C Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 Tbs Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 C Sugar
  • 4 Tbs Butter, melted & cooled
  • 1 1/4 C Yogurt (whole milk)
  • 8 oz Raspberries, freshly picked
  • Turbinado Sugar, for sprinkling
  1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Prepare muffin pan and place on cookie sheet.
  2. Whisk flour, salt, and baking powder and set aside.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, mix the egg and sugar until light.
  4. Add butter and combine.  Add yogurt and mix just until combined.
  5. Add raspberries to dry ingredients and gently toss to coat berries.
  6. Add dry to wet and fold gently just until combined.  Do not overmix.
  7. Distribute evenly among prepared muffin cups and sprinkle with sugar.
  8. Bake for about 30 min or until lightly golden.
  9. Let cool and enjoy!

*My sister is bringing a beautiful new life into this world today.  Please send positive thoughts her way!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 1:44 pm

    YUM! Raspberry muffins!

  2. Tamara Sz permalink
    September 8, 2010 11:02 am

    I had a small package of raspberries in the fridge. When I saw your post yesterday, I couldn’t decide if I should “waste” them on this recipe or not.
    This morning was a bit chilly here and I was in a baking mood so my 2 1/2 year old decided to go for it. SO glad we did. Absolutely delicious! We actually make it in an 8 x 8 pan and baked a bit longer. Also sprinkled a few chopped pecans on the top and replaced about 1/4 of the flour for whole wheat. Thanks for the recipe!

    • September 8, 2010 11:10 am

      Oh my goodness Tamara! I used some WW flour as well and forgot to type the recipe accordingly! I’ll change that right now… Hahaha! Thanks for the reminder. I’m glad you enjoyed the muffins! :-)
      ETA: I actually used 1 1/2 C flour and 1/2 C whole wheat flour

Thoughts?

