Skip to content

Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes

August 17, 2010

The first time I ever had chocolate zucchini cake was at my Mother-in-Law’s house last summer.  I didn’t even know it had zucchini in it!  So moist.  So good.

B and I have an abundance of zucchini coming from the garden right now, and one can only eat so many zuccanoes!  So, why don’t we indulge ourselves and go ahead and call this latest baking endeavor “eating seasonally”, shall we?

Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes
Adapted from MIL’s Chocolate Zucchini Cake*
yields approximately 36 cupcakes

  • 1/2 C Unsalted Butter, room temp
  • 1/2 C Vegetable Oil
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 1/3 C Sugar
  • 1/2 C Plain Yogurt, 4%
  • 1 Tbs Vanilla
  • 2 1/2 C Flour
  • 4 Tbs Cocoa (that’s all!)
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Nutmeg
  • 2 1/2 C Grated Zucchini, packed
  1. Preheat oven to 350F and line cupcake pans.
  2. Mix butter, oil, and sugar.  Add eggs.  Mix in yogurt and vanilla.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix flour, cocoa, salt, baking powder, soda, cinnamon, and nutmeg.
  4. Add the dry to the wet and mix.
  5. Stir in zucchini.
  6. Fill cupcake liners and bake for 20 minutes or so.

Chocolate Buttercream
Adapted from Wilton**

  • 1/2 C Unsalted Butter, room temp
  • 1/2 C Shortening, room temp
  • 3/4 C Cocoa
  • 1 lb Powdered Sugar
  • 3 Tbs Milk, 4%
  • pinch of salt
  1. Cream butter and shortening.  Add cocoa and then sugar and salt.
  2. Slowly add milk 1 Tbs at a time until desired consistency is reached.
  3. Beat at high speed until light and fluffy.
  4. Frost and enjoy!

*Adapted:  This is not my MIL’s recipe exactly, just her recipe as I made it.
**Our review for Wilton is still pending.  Don’t miss it!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 2:17 pm

    YUM! I love chocolate zucchini cake…

  2. Lindsey permalink
    August 17, 2010 5:01 pm

    These look delish! I may have try these as my baking project this week! :-)

  3. Heidi permalink
    August 31, 2010 4:02 pm

    I think I always comment on your recipe posts, but I’m always looking for good ones, so I guess it makes sense :) We are getting zucchini in our crop share this week and I cannot WAIT to make these! They’re almost healthy with the zucchini ;)

Thoughts?

