Skip to content

WIP Wednesday: Thoughts on Knitting

July 21, 2010

My intention today was to gush over a project I just finished and truly love.  Honestly, though, I’m feeling a little glum today.  I think I’ll save the gushing for next week and focus on knitting as a general topic today.

I learned to crochet when I was very young (9, I think?).  For the longest time it didn’t even occur to me to learn to knit.  I didn’t even know anyone that knitted; all the women I knew were crocheters.  Then I went to college and was enlightened.  I picked up the needles but was uninspired.  Quite frankly, crochet was faster and I already knew how to do it.

A few years later, I got pregnant with O.  I picked up the needles again and haven’t looked back since.  These days I rarely crochet and am completely totally enamored with knitting.  Finding the opportunity to knit is such a gift to myself.  In short, it gives me the creative outlet I need while still allowing me to create useful objects for my family.

There are a couple of knitting questions that seem to pop up again and again as I write these here knitting posts.  The first is how did you learn to knit?

I’m self-taught, mostly from books.  I believe all those years of crocheting put me at a knitting advantage once I put my mind to really learning.  Ravelry has also  been a huge help, but mostly I’ve learned to knit by knitting… and then messing up and doing it again.

The second question I get asked a lot is how do you find time to knit?
Here’s how:

You know when you go to a wedding and there’s sometimes a bit of time between the ceremony and reception?  Well, I’m probably in the car knitting, especially if my husband is a groomsman and needed for photos.

I knit while I pump.
I knit while B and I watch a movie.
I knit while rocking a sleeping baby.
I knit whenever I  just happen to have a few moments.
I knit while B works in the garden and O plays in the sunshine.

You get the idea, right?

So, what are you working on?  How do you find creative time?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    July 21, 2010 2:49 pm

    I taught myself to knit because I wanted longies and shorties for my son but couldn’t afford to pay someone to make them for me. Once I learned, I realized how fun and relaxing it was and found several other patterns to try out.

    I knit when the baby naps, while watching both my boys play, watching movies with DH and even staying up late when everyone else is in bed. LOL

    Right now I’m working on a second sleuthing Hoodie and several newborn hats.

    • July 21, 2010 7:26 pm

      Love of handmades certainly is enough to inspire anyone to learn, I’d say! And I agree, it is much more cost effective and oh so enjoyable (not to mention gratifying), to knit things yourself!
      I too find it very relaxing. Perhaps one day I’ll write a post on knitting and mindfulness. I’ve found that if I knit when I’m too tired, I’ll fall asleep! Absolutely nothing else relaxes me that much! (Ok, maybe yoga…) ;)

  2. July 22, 2010 9:19 am

    I love your picture knitting in the car, pretty dress! I knit while walking on the treadmill, but only stockinette and only circular needles.

  3. July 22, 2010 2:04 pm

    Hi Carrie! Thanks for leaving a comment on my column! I changed the title the other day in an attempt to get it going again. Maybe with a little luck and some content, I’ll be able to pull it off.

    I love your digs here. Great job :-) Let’s stay in touch!

  4. Andrea permalink
    July 24, 2010 11:08 am

    I love this. :) I taught myself basic stitches, but I’ll keep starting projects only to become frustrated and give up. I’d LOVE to make my own wool soakers and little sweaters for my darlings. Maybe I need to get the needles out and try again. That’s how I learned Crochet, I guess. Thanks for the inspiration! I love the picture of you knitting in the car. :)

  5. July 26, 2010 5:35 pm

    I do that too – I even knit when I’m waiting in line…

Trackbacks

  1. Honey Cowl «

Thoughts?

