Skip to content

Old Fashioned Crumb Coffee Cake

June 10, 2010

It’s been raining and chilly the last few days around here, giving me a wonderful opportunity to get some cozy baking done before the summer heat sets in.  I’ve been finding more and more that I like my baked goods simple, familiar, homey. Baking is my favorite way to reconnect with myself when I’m experiencing a difficult time or just plain having one of those days. It’s so comforting.  This coffee cake is soft, sugary, and delicious.  Exactly the kind of thing that warms the nest and nurtures the soul on a chilly rainy day.

Old Fashioned Crumb Coffee Cake
Adapted from Baking Illustrated

  • 2 C AP Flour
  • 1 C plus 2 Tbs Sugar
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 10 Tbs Unsalted Butter, softened
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 3/4 C Milk soured with vinegar
  • 1 large Egg
  • 3/4 C Walnuts, crushed
  • 1/2 C Light Brown Sugar
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F and grease a 10″ springform pan.
  2. Whisk flour, sugar, and salt together in mixer bowl.  Cut in butter until mixture resembles a course meal.  Remove 1 C of the flour mixture and set aside for topping.
  3. Stir baking soda and baking powder into remaining flour mixture.  Add buttermilk and the egg.  Mix well until batter is light and fluffy.
  4. Pour batter into springform pan and smooth top with a spatula.
  5. Add walnuts, brown sugar, and cinnamon to reserved flour mixture.  Mix with a fork until crumbly.  Sprinkle crumbs over the smoothed batter, pressing lightly.
  6. Bake until toothpick comes out clean, about 40 minutes.
  7. Cool on a wire rack and enjoy!

Recipe as I made it.  For the original, you’ll need the book.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 12:39 pm

    its nice to feel warm and homey…even if for just a short while. Love your cake :)

  2. tracy permalink
    June 10, 2010 2:26 pm

    I’m trying this tonight, look and sounds so good!

    • June 10, 2010 2:35 pm

      It is! Let me know what you think! :-)

      • tracy permalink
        June 10, 2010 5:53 pm

        Wow, so good :)
        I didn’t have any walnuts so I threw in some chocolate chips and viola! It’s also the first time I used my springform pan (I had some trouble opening it :( ) Great recipe though. Be perfect in the morning with some perked coffee!!!

  3. nancy permalink
    June 10, 2010 5:25 pm

    You can add me to that list of people making coffee cake tonight! Yum!

Thoughts?

