Skip to content

In the Wash: Homemade Laundry Powder

June 7, 2010

B and I have talked about making our own laundry soap for quite some time now.    After reading this post on SouleMama as well as viewing all the lovely Wash Wednesday posts on GardenMama, I felt inspired all over again and we decided to give homemade laundry soap a try.

Success!

Making the laundry soap took a matter of minutes and I have a feeling that a lot of money will be saved this way.  Adding a third person (and cloth diapers) to our family has certainly increased our wash load!  No matter though, we just consider ourselves lucky to have more opportunity to submerge ourselves in the loveliness that is sun-dried linens.  :-)

Homemade Laundry Powder
as seen on SouleMama
approximately 5 cups
  • 2 cups finely grated castile soap*
  • 1 cup borax
  • 1 cup baking soda
  • 1 cup washing soda

*Our favorite is Dr. Bronner’s.  (I’m partial to lavender.)

Have you tried making your own laundry soap?  Care to share your “recipe”?

PS  I’ve been using this laundry powder on our cloth diapers without any problems.  Do keep in mind, though, using homemade laundry soaps on your diapers could void the warranty.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Mindy permalink
    June 7, 2010 2:02 pm

    Mike and I have an on-going joke about how when we can tell that the “end” of the world is coming he is going to build a large bunker for all of us. Everyone has his/her own contributions. Mike and James will do all the building and hunting. Mom does the canning; Brad the gardening and cooking, Missie the psychological consultations (after all the end of the world has got to be mentally trying); Mitsu is in charge of radio contact with other possible bunkers, and I, well Mike had to make something up for me because I have no survival skills, so I am in charge of “cultural knowledge” and educating I and O. Also the gathering of fruits and nuts. You, though, have to do everything else. You are the one who can make clothes, sew things, bake, and NOW make the soap. So I was telling my friend Diana about this, since she and her boyfriend have to come with us to produce children for I and O to marry who don’t come from the same gene pool. And as soon as I was done telling her this elaborate story she said, “Geeeeez, you better not let anything happen to your sister-in-law cause we need her.” I thought that was funny. True but funny.

  2. nancy permalink
    June 7, 2010 2:21 pm

    I have been waiting for this post! yay! The comment above me was a great read thanks :) haha!

  3. Tara permalink
    June 8, 2010 1:48 pm

    I haven’t made my own soap yet… but it’s on my list of things to do! I have to find somewhere here in Canada where I can buy castile soap.

    P.S. LOVE your quilt!

  4. Heidi permalink
    June 9, 2010 9:32 am

    Thank you for this recipe! I bought eco-friendly wash and as I reach the end of it, I have been debating making my own. I’m motivated by your post because it looks do-able. And I am also partial to lavender:)

  5. Shanea permalink
    June 30, 2010 10:03 pm

    Thanks for the quick response. I will let you know how we fare.

  6. Shanea permalink
    June 30, 2010 5:17 pm

    Why are you reconsidering? I just bought all of the ingredients to make mine…so do tell.

  7. June 30, 2010 7:28 pm

    Hi Shanea, The homemade laundry powder seemed to work really well at first, then not so much after a while. The soap flakes aren’t dissolving and therefore not cleaning much. I think the problem is that we have* very* hard water. Of course, I am no expert and will probably look into it further but I think this particular formula would work better on softer water (or at least water softer than ours). I know a lot of folks use homemade laundry soap with great success. I’d love to hear how it works out for you! Good Luck!

Trackbacks

  1. Around Here «

Thoughts?

