Skip to content

WIP Wednesday: Old Shale

May 19, 2010

I mentioned this scarf last week.  I did cast on one more time for a total of six yarn/needle/pattern repeat combinations.  Phew!

click photo for ravelry details

By golly, I think I got it just right!  I noticed, after I made my final decision, I used these same needles the last time I was working with this yarn (different colorway).  Hmm…  Must be I’ve found something I like!

If you’re looking for a simple yet beautiful pattern, I highly recommend the Old Shale Scarf (rav link- free)!  The pattern is easy to memorize, yet interesting enough to keep one from getting bored.  Great mama-knitting!  :)

So, what are you crafting?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Danielle permalink
    May 19, 2010 10:37 am

    How did you learn to knit? People have told me to watch videos on youtube, but i don’t know. I’ve crocheted for so long, i’m just used to crocheting. But I’d like to learn how to knit too ;)

    • May 19, 2010 10:47 am

      I’ve mostly learned to knit by just knitting… and making mistakes and trying again. ;) I have a book called The Complete Guide to Needlework (reader’s digest). It came from a library booksale for next to nothing and has been very helpful. There’s a link to it on the Resources page if you want to check it out. Ravelry is also an amazing resource! I’ve only really been knitting since I got pregnant with O. Before that, I crocheted for years. Now I hardly ever crochet at all. One project that helped build my knitting-confidence a great deal is Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Baby Surprise Jacket. It’s a lot of fun and you learn some useful skills along the way! I occasionally watch a youtube video, but not very often. (Videos have a tendency to confuse me.) Hope that helps!

  2. May 19, 2010 12:58 pm

    It’s beautiful!

  3. May 19, 2010 2:19 pm

    Ooo… scrumptious! I wanna feel it. …sorry, I am an knitting withdrawl. I don’t have the time right now. sigh..

    • May 19, 2010 2:44 pm

      Can’t say I blame you. This yarn is sooo soft! Not sure it would be great for sweaters (cotton), but love it for scarves! :)

  4. jess permalink
    May 20, 2010 10:57 am

    what am i NOT crafting?! I’m making worry dolls and tiny origami cranes for a friend, curtains for the kitchen, a wallet for sis-in-law, pajamas for self, a folk art inspired stuffed sheep that is looking more like a horse…i like to start things and not finish, can you tell? i’m sure if i looked in my closet right now i’d find a minimum of 38764 projects that need to be finished. sigh, at least i alway have something to do.

    • May 20, 2010 11:02 am

      I’d like to see that stuffed sheep! I have a bag of wool stuffing and well, you know how well I finish sewing projects… ;)

      • jess permalink
        May 30, 2010 12:02 pm

        in 20 yrs or so when i finish the sheep i’ll be sure to send a pic

  5. jess permalink
    May 20, 2010 11:02 am

    I just checked out the rag rug tutorial from your side bar, thanks a lot now i have to start another project. ;-)

  6. Tara permalink
    May 29, 2010 11:00 am

    looks beautiful! someday I’d like to learn…

Thoughts?

