Skip to content

Baby Food Banana Bread

May 10, 2010

It seems that I bake a lot of banana bread!  With no shortage of recipes around here, I thought, what’s one more?

We were given a bunch of jars of banana baby food awhile back.  Since I can’t think of a good reason to give Baby O jarred food when there are perfectly good organic bananas sitting in the fruit basket, the jarred bananas have been just sitting idly by in the cupboard.  Rather than let them go to waste, I decided to put them to good use:  Baby Food Banana Bread!

Baby Food Banana Bread

  • 2 4oz jars Banana Baby Food (ours were stage 2)
  • 1/2 C (1 stick) unsalted Butter, softened
  • 1 C Sugar
  • 2 large Eggs
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  • 2 C Flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • tiny pinch salt
    For Topping:
  • 2 tbs light Brown Sugar
  • 2 tbs Flour
  • 1 tbs Butter, softened
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp Cinnamon*
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Lightly butter one loaf pan.
  2. Mix sugar and butter.  Add baby food  and vanilla.  Mix.  Add eggs.  Mix after each.
  3. Mix flour, baking soda,  and salt.
  4. Add dry to wet.  Mix just until incorporated.
  5. Pour into prepared pan.
  6. Mix all topping ingredients with a fork until crumbly.  Sprinkle topping over bread batter.
  7. Bake at 350 degrees F about 45 minutes.
  8. Let cool and enjoy!

*1/4 tsp cinnamon is totally reasonable.  I just happen to really like cinnamon these days.  Adjust to your own taste.
**1/2 C walnuts could also be added to the recipe (and a few to the topping as well).  I chose to leave them out so Baby O could enjoy some bread with the rest of the family.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bao permalink
    July 24, 2010 5:19 am

    I want to try this! Thank you so much. I’ve been looking for a good recipe :)

  2. Megan permalink
    May 19, 2011 3:03 pm

    I have SOOO much leftover baby food… I never thought to cook with it! Thanks for the great tip!!!

  3. Patty permalink
    November 21, 2012 5:53 pm

    I was so excited to try this. I have made the carrot cake with baby food many times and love it. But, something went wrong. I followed recipe exactly, at thirty mins., I smelled something burning. My bread had “bubbled” way over. The spilled batter was burning on the bottom of my oven. The bread was not finished, so I just watched it a little more. I have no idea what caused it to rise so much that it spilled out. I plan on trying it again. Any ideas?

    • November 28, 2012 10:13 pm

      Sorry, Patty… I really don’t know what could have happened. My best suggestion is to just try again :)

Thoughts?

