Skip to content

Happy Mother’s Day! {& Give-Away}

May 9, 2010

This Mother’s Day has me thinking about a woman that has become very special to me, my mother-in-law.  My relationship with my mother-in-law is, perhaps, unique.  I adore her.

If you have read our About page or my birth article featured on Life More Simply, then you know our birth did not go “according to plan”.

When Baby O was born, what we thought was going to be an overnight visit ended up being a five day hospital stay.  The second night we were there, after another long day of unsuccessful induction was over, my husband and I lay looking at each other on two hospital beds the nurses had kindly pushed together for us.  I looked at him.  He looked at me… and I knew we could use a little extra support.  The first person that came to mind was my mother-in-law.  I asked B to call her, and was honestly a little afraid she might not come.  (I’m not sure how well I could have handled any sort of rejection considering the state I was in…)

My mother-in-law was there first thing in the morning on that third day of induction, ready to greet her grandson.  If you’ve ever witnessed childbirth, you know, it gets intense.  What I thought was going to be support from the side-lines ended up being full participation for my mother-in-law.  After a couple of hours of pushing, I started to lose strength.  B was helping hold my legs while I pushed, but eventually I was having trouble even lifting my own shoulders with the contractions.

This is when my mother-in-law really stepped into action.  She held me up while I pushed, wiped my forehead with a cool cloth, and helped me to the bathroom while I was leaking blood, urine, amniotic fluid, and whoknowswhatelse all over the floor and probably her as well.  She was a hero that day.

When it was time for the c-section.  B and I made our decision and then I looked up at my mother-in-law.  I was crying.  She was crying too.  She said “It’s time”, and I knew she was right.  She waited patiently while B, our midwife, and I all went into the operating room.  Then she was there while my husband gave our son his first bath.  She came to me soon after I was out of the operating room to briefly discuss the feelings I might experience after our surgical birth.  She went home that night, but was back the next day, with flowers.

My mother-in-law’s  presence the day our son was born was so much more than just physically being there.  It was one of the greatest acts of kindness anyone has ever shown me.  I’ll always be grateful, and it is my greatest hope that I can raise my son as well as she raised hers.

Now on to the Give-Away:

Because I think you are all oh-so-fabulous, I’d like to send one of my own creations from my kitchen to yours!  One Oh Baby O reader will receive an 8.5″x11″ archival quality “Tea Time” print (shown above)*.

All you have to do to enter the give-away is leave a comment on this post about motherhood.  It can be a heartfelt story, a quote, lyrics, advice, anything about being a mama!

Happy Mother’s Day!
~Carrie

Winner will be announced in two weeks (May 23rd, 2010).
This give-away is open to US addresses only.

*If it matters, I have a degree in Fine Art and a very fancy printer…

Winner: Comment #4:

Alice Kershaw

I really enjoyed your post today. I definitely have my ups and downs with my mother-in-law, but she really came through for me after the birth of my son. I had to have a C-section and he needed a little oxygen. He was fine after about 10 minutes but the nurses were trying to get me to rest. After two hours I still hadn’t seen my son and I was hysterical. My New Yorker MIL is sometimes quite brash and boy did it pay off! Not sure exactly what was said, but my darling baby was wheeled in about 30 seconds later :)

11 Comments
  1. Mindy permalink
    May 9, 2010 9:25 am

    This is one of the coolest articles I have ever read:)

  2. Terry Draper permalink
    May 9, 2010 5:20 pm

    Each Mother’s Day I think of my wonderful mother who has always been there for all of her children. An amazing thing is that she was able to be there for the birth of all of her grandchildren. Even the ones born out of state. Thank you Mom for everything!!! I love you very much!!

  3. Caitlin permalink
    May 9, 2010 9:25 pm

    What a beautiful story! I wish my mother in law had been in a position to be involved with her grandkids (birth or otherwise). I hope the person that she was is proud of the way we’re bringing up her grandkids. We love her more than can be said!

  4. Alice Kershaw permalink
    May 11, 2010 12:46 pm

    I really enjoyed your post today. I definitely have my ups and downs with my mother-in-law, but she really came through for me after the birth of my son. I had to have a C-section and he needed a little oxygen. He was fine after about 10 minutes but the nurses were trying to get me to rest. After two hours I still hadn’t seen my son and I was hysterical. My New Yorker MIL is sometimes quite brash and boy did it pay off! Not sure exactly what was said, but my darling baby was wheeled in about 30 seconds later :)

  5. jess permalink
    May 13, 2010 12:24 pm

    How sweet. This made me tear up in the library, I feel really cool right now. Hmmm, does it count if i talk about my own mother? I don’t waqnt to get into too much personal detail so I’ll just say we have gotten so much closer lately wiht all the things going on in our family. She has been so supportive and also very appreciative of support I’ve given her and I’m so lucky to have such an amazing mother.

    • jess permalink
      May 13, 2010 12:25 pm

      oh wait….is this contest only for mothers? I have a kitty now and I call myself his momma….

  6. Danielle permalink
    May 18, 2010 10:24 am

    I am not sure that I have a “story” or anything important to share about Mother’s Day from me, but i wanted to say your story makes me happy. Your mother-in-law sounds really amazing and i’m glad you had her there to help you through your birth process.

  7. renee permalink
    May 22, 2010 12:02 am

    Motherhood is the toughest most wonderful job I was never fully prepared for :)

  8. Julie L permalink
    May 22, 2010 11:36 am

    My mother is very special to me. My father in law died a week before my 2 second son was born by c-section. She lives out of state-my sis and brother inlaw brought her 2 days after Andrew was born and stayed with me for a month

Trackbacks

  1. Glimpses: Mama’s Day «

Comments are closed.

