Skip to content

Review & Give-Away: The Petit Appetit Cookbook

April 13, 2010

I have a serious soft spot for The Petit Appetit Cookbook, by Lisa Barnes.  B and I decided from the beginning that we would be making Baby O’s food ourselves.  We knew homemade food would be more fresh, healthier, and far more tasty!  I mean, have you tasted commercially prepared baby food?  Ack!  Prior to the onset of our baby food making adventures, we thought it might be helpful to have a book to guide us, offer helpful hints.  The Petit Appetit Cookbook is just that book.  We received this cookbook for review in January, shortly after Baby O started solids and it is our favorite baby (and toddler) cookbook.  It’s approach to making your own organic baby food is just so friendly!

The book starts with the basics, explaining key words associated with organic foods.  Buying organics is much easier and less intimidating when you understand the labels you are reading!  Lisa also includes a section on food safety that will inform but not frighten you.  There is a sweet section on Parenting in the Kitchen as well as a chapter addressing specific lifestyle concerns.

The recipe chapters are separated into appropriate developmental stages (beginners, explorers, independents, etc..), providing guidelines for when your child might be ready for new foods and textures. Lisa also advises you to, of course, first follow the advice of your pediatrician.  Recipes are accompanied by both nutritional information as well as a key addressing lifestyle needs (vegan, gluten-free, lactose-free).

The pages of the book have extra wide margins, which I have found especially helpful for keeping notes.  There is a Food Introduction Record in the back of the book to help you keep track of which foods your baby has tried as well as any reactions or problems.  There is also a Toddler Food Diary to help you keep track of how much your busy little one is eating as well as preferences.

Would you like to have a copy of The Petit Appetit Cookbook for your family?
Lisa is generously offering a copy of her book to one lucky Oh Baby O reader!

Required Entry:

Other optional ways to enter:
(Optional entries only count with participation in Required Entry!)

and for two extra optional entries you can:
(Again, optional entries only count if you participate in required entry!)

  • Blog about this Review/Give-Away linking back to Oh Baby O as well as to the Petit Appetit website.  I’ll give you two entries since it requires two links!  (Be sure to leave two comments!)  Make sure to leave me a link so I can see your post.  The blog post has to be about this give-away only.  Please no give-away only blogs.  Thank you.

The more entries you have, the better your chances of winning!

Remember to leave a separate comment (2 for the blog post) for each entry!

This give-away is open to US addresses only.  Must be 18 years of age to enter.

Winner, to receive one copy of The Petit Appetit Cookbook, will be posted in two weeks (Apt. 27th, 2010).

Good Luck!
~Carrie

Thank you to Lisa Barnes for her help during our review process.

Disclosure:  Please note, although an honest review, this review is based on free product samples provided to the author.  No other compensation has been received for this review.

All images courtesy of petitappetit.com.

Winner: Comment #18:

Alice
I think it’s really interesting and neat that she offers cooking classes! It’s very unique
.

55 Comments
  1. Sarah R permalink
    April 13, 2010 12:01 pm

    I learned that it is important to choose organic fruit and vegetables for you children because their exposure to the chemicals is higher early in life due to the amount they are eating in comparison with their size. I would love to win a copy, and will probably but it if I don’t! Thank you for the review!

  2. April 13, 2010 12:05 pm

    I like that it goes up to 4 years old, so it will last her for a while!

  3. April 13, 2010 12:05 pm

    I follow your blog!

  4. April 13, 2010 12:09 pm

    I follow you on twitter

  5. April 13, 2010 12:11 pm

    I checked out their blog… lots of good food!

  6. April 13, 2010 12:13 pm

    I tweeted about the giveaway!

  7. Sara permalink
    April 13, 2010 4:55 pm

    I went to the website and learned that the book goes up to age four. That is perfect for us since we have a 3 month old and a 2 year old.

  8. Sara permalink
    April 13, 2010 4:57 pm

    I follow you on twitter

  9. Sara permalink
    April 13, 2010 4:57 pm

    I became a fan on Facebook

  10. Sara permalink
    April 13, 2010 4:57 pm

    I checked out their blog

  11. nancy permalink
    April 13, 2010 8:37 pm

    I learned that 8 leading baby foods have the presence of 16 pesticides and 3 carcinogens…That really scares me and I had never thought about pesticides in baby food before! How is that ok…

    • April 14, 2010 11:01 am

      Not ok! Don’t be scared, be informed! :-)

  12. nancy permalink
    April 13, 2010 8:41 pm

    I follow Oh Baby O, I am a fan of Oh Baby O on Facebook, and I have also leanred that 400 pesticides can be used in conventional farming…WOW!

    • April 14, 2010 10:56 am

      Nancy~ You need to put each of those entries in a separate comment for them to count individually!

  13. nancy permalink
    April 13, 2010 8:48 pm

    I commented on WIP Wednesday: Spring Duo.

  14. nancy permalink
    April 13, 2010 8:52 pm

    I have also checked out the Petit Appetit Blog, and I am now wondering what cabbage with apples must taste like together…

  15. April 14, 2010 11:47 am

    I’m your new follower from UBP10! Visit me at http://www.rockindeals4you.com/?p=1602 and sign up for my giveaways!

  16. April 14, 2010 12:53 pm

    I think it’s really interesting and neat that she offers cooking classes! It’s very unique.

  17. April 14, 2010 1:40 pm

    I put your badge on my blog

  18. April 14, 2010 1:41 pm

    I am a fan of Oh Baby O! on Facebook

  19. April 14, 2010 1:41 pm

    I follow you on Twitter! @lifewithvivian

  20. ellemarz permalink
    April 17, 2010 9:08 pm

    I learned that Petit Appetit offers private cooking classes! what a great idea. wish I lived in San Francisco so I could take advantage of that. lmmarzilli at gmail dot com

  21. ellemarz permalink
    April 17, 2010 9:08 pm

    I follow your blog lmmarzilli at gmail dot com

  22. ellemarz permalink
    April 17, 2010 9:11 pm

    I checked out the Petit Appetit blog
    lmmarzilli at gmail dot com

  23. ellemarz permalink
    April 17, 2010 9:11 pm

    I’m now following the Petit Appetit blog
    lmmarzilli at gmail dot com

  24. ellemarz permalink
    April 17, 2010 9:15 pm

    I also learned that there is a seond cookbook called Petit Appetit: Eat Drink and Be Merry. which will help you create easy, organic snacks, drinks and party foods to celebrate special days and every days! lmmarzilli at gmail dot com

  25. Caitlin permalink
    April 20, 2010 11:33 am

    I like that it’s for up to 4 year olds

  26. Caitlin permalink
    April 20, 2010 11:34 am

    I also learned that she does cooking classes (local to her) and customizes them to the customers needs.

  27. Caitlin permalink
    April 20, 2010 11:35 am

    Checked out the petit appetit blog (couldn’t figure out how to follow, but it’s bookmarked now)

  28. Caitlin permalink
    April 20, 2010 11:35 am

    Email subscriber to oh baby o

  29. April 20, 2010 11:54 am

    I like that the cookbook can be for up to four year olds.

  30. April 20, 2010 4:48 pm

    That’s awesome that she offers in-home, private cooking lessons! I have wanted to make my own baby food with both of my kids and didn’t simply because I didn’t know where to start. I am determined to make a better effort with this next baby. I sure could use this book!

  31. kari permalink
    April 20, 2010 7:22 pm

    learned that many leading baby foods contain 16 different pesticides and 3 carcinogens. Yikes!

  32. Emily permalink
    April 21, 2010 12:31 am

    I learned that a lot of mom’s feel like I do. We have total intentions of making our baby food, but then don’t feel like we have the time or energy. I would LOVE this book.

    nordstromemily(at)hotmail(dot)com

  33. Emily permalink
    April 21, 2010 12:34 am

    I learned that this book is a Top Green Holiday Book for Moms. I can see why.

    nordstromemily(at)hotmail(dot)com

  34. Heidi permalink
    April 21, 2010 1:23 pm

    I think the cooking classes are an excellent idea. Our first baby is almost ready to start solids and I’ve been committed to making my own… it can be daunting! Thanks for the giveaway!
    heidi.almeter[at]gmail[dot]com

  35. Heidi permalink
    April 21, 2010 1:25 pm

    Checked out the blog and read about Asian pear puree – happy to see she uses a food processor, as I have one and didn’t want to buy a mill.
    heidi.almeter[at]gmail[dot]com

    • April 25, 2010 9:18 am

      Heidi~ We bought a mill and it was essentially useless… Food processor should do the trick just fine! :-)

  36. Heidi permalink
    April 21, 2010 1:27 pm

    FB fan
    heidi.almeter[at]gmail[dot]com

  37. Megan permalink
    April 23, 2010 7:06 pm

    Why do carcinogens need to be in what we eat?? This was scary! Thanks for the opportunity to win this fabulous book!

  38. Kendyl permalink
    April 24, 2010 10:05 pm

    I learned that the author provides private in-home cooking instruction, group workshops and cooking demonstrations in the Bay Area.

  39. Kendyl permalink
    April 24, 2010 10:06 pm

    I also learned the cookbook won the iParenting Media Award for Outstanding Product in 2009.

  40. Megan permalink
    April 24, 2010 11:38 pm

    I appreciate that it is sensitive to children with allergies and intolerances. :)

    simp2553@gmail.com

  41. Megan permalink
    April 24, 2010 11:41 pm

    Following you! :)
    simp2553@gmail.com

  42. Megan permalink
    April 24, 2010 11:43 pm

    Following you on twitter! @AnaisSin

    simp2553@gmail.com

  43. Megan permalink
    April 24, 2010 11:44 pm

    checked out the petit blog!

    simp2553@gmail.com

  44. Megan permalink
    April 24, 2010 11:45 pm

    http://twitter.com/anaissin

    tweeted! :)

    simp2553@gmail.com

  45. Megan permalink
    April 24, 2010 11:46 pm

    I also learned that the book offers many tips for the safety of food for children.

    simp2553@gmail.com

  46. Megan permalink
    April 25, 2010 10:30 am

    http://twitter.com/anaissin

    tweeted! thanks! :)
    simp2553@gmail.com

  47. April 25, 2010 11:54 am

    I learned that the author gives in-home group workshop to show people how to make their own baby food—cool!

  48. April 25, 2010 11:56 am

    …I also learned that she has another book for cooking for AND with older kids, called “Eat, Drink and Be Merry”.

  49. April 25, 2010 12:00 pm

    I also commented on your tulips post and your sugar cookie recipe post.

Comments are closed.

