Skip to content

WIP Wednesday: Spring Duo

April 7, 2010

Here it is!

The finished Spring Stripes Baby Jacket and Blue Pilot Cap to match:

 click photo for Ravelry details

After the Serendipity Sweater incident, I decided I really do like the way this style sweater looks when it’s felted ever so slightly.  For this little Spring jacket, I washed it once in warm water and then gave it about 3o minutes in the dryer.  Perfect!

click photo for Ravelry details

I decided to felt the pilot cap just a little as well, so the set would match.  I’m not sure this hat pattern was the best choice for felting.  It’s a great compliment to the BSJ, but it got a tad lumpy with the felting.  No worries though!  It still fits fine and looks adorable!

Your turn!  What are you crafting?  Leave links!  I want to see!

~Carrie

P.S.  There’s a new poll in the sidebar!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 12:52 pm

    This is so adorable! Do you think if I took up knitting some grandchildren might come my way? ;)

  2. April 9, 2010 12:36 am

    Love the baby surprise jacket!

  3. April 11, 2010 4:20 pm

    I love the sweater, the buttons make it!

  4. nancy permalink
    April 13, 2010 8:46 pm

    I really need to get off my butt and learn to knit already…I would love, love too make something like these for my little bundle on the way, or even for Michael! I just love stripes!

    • April 13, 2010 11:02 pm

      This sweater pattern is great for a beginner. You could make it in Michael’s size as well!

  5. Michelle permalink
    March 30, 2011 8:37 pm

    Ok, I love this! I’ve been wanting to knit the BSJ. How would you rate it? Is it difficult? I consider myself intermediate skill level at knitting. This pattern for some reason always intimidates me, though. How did you change the sizing for a toddler? Did you just go up in yarn size/gauge?

    • March 30, 2011 8:55 pm

      Hi Michelle,
      I LOVE the BSJ! :) An intermediate knitter could most definitely handle this! It’s just a bunch of garter stitch with some simple increasing and decreasing. Easy Peasy ;)
      I made it toddler-sized by knitting at a larger gauge. After about US needle size 8 though, it’s better for me to move on to another pattern. I’m a rather loose knitter, so worsted on 8s is a pretty airy fabric for me.
      If you click on the photo, you’ll be taken to my Ravelry page where you can see my notes. Ravelry also has a BSJ group full of helpful suggestions and even a Wikki!
      Hope that helps!
      Carrie

Trackbacks

  1. WIP Wednesday: Paprika Pilot Cap «
  2. WIP Wednesday: A Bevy of Baby Booties! «
  3. An EZ Sweater «
  4. An EZ Sweater: Solstice Stripes «

Thoughts?

