Skip to content

Review & Give-Away: Super Baby Food

March 15, 2010

It is very important to B and I that we are proactive about Baby O’s nutrition.  We don’t want to just feed his body, we want to nourish him.  We chose to wait to start solids until Baby O gave us many signs he was ready and at just about six months, it was time!   I have to admit I was quite nervous to begin the transition to solid foods.  I felt uncertain about knowing not only what O should eat, but when, how much, and in what way.  After a bit of research and a lot of recommendations, I found Ruth Yaron’s Super Baby Food.  Relief!

I’ll just say it right off the bat, my favorite part about this impressively inclusive book is the nutrition information.  There is tons of useful information in this book, such as how to make a complete protein, which combinations of vitamins are most efficient, as well as lists of food sources for particular nutrients.  Super Baby Food has been an incredible resource for our family when making nutritious food choices each day!

Like his parents, Baby O eats a mostly vegetarian diet, but he does occasionally have organic free-range meats.  The Super Baby Food diet is a vegetarian diet, but this book is useful for omnivores and vegetarians alike as it contains a special section on preparing meat for those that choose to do so.

Ruth also includes information on which foods to introduce when (of course always follow the advice of your pediatrician first), approximately how much solids and liquids your child might be eating at each age, as well as tips on food preparation and safety.  There are many many recipes in this book, guiding you all the way from choosing your ingredients through preparing and freezing meals for later.

Super Baby Food includes practical (and fun!) tips too!  There are entire sections on Arts & Crafts and even do it yourself Party Supplies.  See what I mean when I said inclusive!?

Would you like to have Super Baby Food for your family?  Mmm Hmm!
Ruth is generously offering one Oh Baby O reader a Super Baby Food book of your very own!

Required Entry:

Other optional ways to enter:
(Optional entries only count with participation in Required Entry!)

and for two extra optional entries you can:
(Again, optional entries only count if you participate in required entry!)

  • Blog about this Review/Give-Away linking back to Oh Baby O as well as to the Super Baby Food website.  I’ll give you two entries since it requires two links!  (Be sure to leave two comments!)  Make sure to leave me a link so I can see your post.  The blog post has to be about this give-away only.  Please no give-away only blogs.  Thank you.

The more entries you have, the better your chances of winning!
Remember to leave a separate comment (2 for the blog post) for each entry!

This give-away is open to US addresses only.
Must be 18 years of age to enter.

Winner, to receive one Super Baby Food book, will be posted in two weeks (Mar. 29th, 2010).
Good Luck!

~Carrie

Thank you to Ruth Yaron for her help during our review process.

Disclosure:  Please note, although an honest review, this review is based on free product samples provided to the author.  No other compensation has been received for this review.

All images courtesy of superbabyfood.com.

Winner: Comment #28:
amy h
Following Oh Baby O on Twitter

32 Comments
  1. Tamara Sz permalink
    March 15, 2010 4:52 pm

    I checked out her site! I learned that this book also has lots of other tips about saving money in the kitchen and on crafts (playdough, finger paints, etc!) as well as environmentally friendly and baby safe recipes for household cleaners! Wow! I’d love to have a copy of this book!

  2. Tamara Sz permalink
    March 15, 2010 4:53 pm

    I have Oh Baby O badge on my blog :

    http://www.szogediek.blogspot.com/

  3. Tamara Sz permalink
    March 15, 2010 4:54 pm

    I am a fan of Oh Baby O on Facebook!

  4. Tamara Sz permalink
    March 15, 2010 4:55 pm

    I follow Oh Baby O on Twitter (@szogediek)

  5. Tamara Sz permalink
    March 15, 2010 4:57 pm

    I checked out the Super Baby Food sample recipes.
    The French Fries–Not! sound great!

  6. Tamara Sz permalink
    March 15, 2010 5:02 pm

    I checked out the Super Baby Food sample chapters! Wow! So much information and such great tips!

  7. ellemarz permalink
    March 16, 2010 7:23 pm

    I checked out the recipes. love the Melon Yogurt Bowls! great idea. lmmarzilli at gmail dot com

  8. ellemarz permalink
    March 16, 2010 7:25 pm

    I visited the website and learned the book also has “Easy, economical recipes for homemade baby accessories, such as baby wipes, diaper cream, and more”. I would love to read that section. lmmarzilli at gmail dot com

  9. ellemarz permalink
    March 16, 2010 7:26 pm

    I’m now following

  10. ellemarz permalink
    March 16, 2010 7:28 pm

    I went to the sample chapters and read up on vitamin c lmmarzilli at gmail dot com

  11. ellemarz permalink
    March 16, 2010 7:28 pm

    I also learned that “Vitamin C is very unstable, in fact, it is the most unstable of all vitamins.” lmmarzilli at gmail dot com

  12. March 18, 2010 4:43 pm

    I already have a copy, so I don’t need to win, but I just wanted to say that I reference my copy at least 3 times/week. It has been a lifesaver!

  13. Becca permalink
    March 19, 2010 3:43 am

    I learned that dried fruit is easier to chop when cold – this is a helpful tip for a couple of recipes that pop immediately to mind!

  14. Tracy permalink
    March 22, 2010 10:39 am

    I loved how she discusses how veggies or fruits can be first foods rather than baby cereal which is low in nutrition and fiber.

  15. Tracy permalink
    March 22, 2010 10:42 am

    Read the sample chapters – the section on minimizing nutrient loss is great because isn’t that part of why we’re making our own baby food, to give baby the maximum nutrients and best foods?

  16. Tracy permalink
    March 22, 2010 10:43 am

    Sample Recipes: The melon bowl idea is great not just for toddlers!

  17. Tracy permalink
    March 22, 2010 10:49 am

    I was flipping back through some of your older posts : 1) how is your Spring Quilt coming? If you have any other fabrics in your stash you could use a fabric that reads “dark” (but I like some higher contrast) but love the colors you picked!
    2) In a whole giant string of pictures there is a little girl in an aqua eyelet dress…so cute! Did someone make the dress?

    • March 22, 2010 11:12 am

      Hi Tracy~
      The Spring quilt is on hold. I’m not loving all the little squares to be honest. Nothing wrong with the pattern… It’s just me! I’m thinking that it might have been better to start with something a bit more simple. I do intend on finishing it though.
      That gorgeous little girl is my youngest sister! I believe the dress you are referring to was store-bought.
      Thanks for stopping by!
      ~Carrie

  18. March 22, 2010 11:40 am

    I would love to learn about : Baby-safe and environmentally-friendly recipes for household cleaning products, such as baby-safe drain cleaners, furniture polish, window cleaners.

  19. March 22, 2010 11:41 am

    I follow your blog

  20. March 22, 2010 11:42 am

    I follow Oh Baby Oh on Twitter

  21. March 22, 2010 11:42 am

    I am a fan on Faceboook :-)

  22. amy h permalink
    March 23, 2010 7:01 am

    I learned The Super Baby Food Book is packed with helpful hints and money-saving tips. Everyone needs money saving tips these days. Thanks for the chance!

  23. amy h permalink
    March 23, 2010 7:02 am

    I’m following/subscribing via google reader.

  24. amy h permalink
    March 23, 2010 7:02 am

    I’m a fan of Oh Baby O on Facebook.

  25. amy h permalink
    March 23, 2010 7:03 am

    Following Oh Baby O on Twitter – hillfam2005

  26. amy h permalink
    March 23, 2010 7:05 am

    Checked out the recipes the Super Quick Mini Jelly Roll for Toddlers sounds yummy.

  27. amy h permalink
    March 23, 2010 7:06 am

    One of my friends (first time mom) had the hardest time on what to feed her daughter, so I found the chapter : Your BabFeeding Your Baby at 7 Months interesting. Thanks!

  28. heidi donahue permalink
    March 27, 2010 10:23 pm

    i learned that i really want this book, lol! i love the sample recipes, the melon bowl looks great!

  29. March 28, 2010 9:44 pm

    I have this book already, but would love to pass it along to my sister who is expecting her first. One of the first things I really learned from this was that baby cereal actually doesn’t have nutrition and so it is better to start with vegetables and fruits.

Comments are closed.

