Skip to content

Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Bread

February 27, 2010

For years, I had my eye on my great-grandmother’s recipe scrapbook.  My mother kept it in her china cabinet and every so often, she’d let me oh so carefully look through the pages.  When B and I got married, my mother gave me that very scrapbook.  It is one of my most prized possessions.

Within the recipe scrapbook, there is a recipe for banana bread, written in my great-grandmother’s own scratchy handwriting.  I’ve made that bread recipe a million times and have created other recipes from it as well.  (Find banana cranberry bread in the sidebar.)  This chocolate peanut butter banana bread is yet another incarnation.  I think G-Grandma would be proud!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Bread
Yields 1 loaf

For Bread:

  • 1/2 C Crunchy Peanut Butter
  • 2 Large Eggs
  • 1 C Sugar
  • 2 C AP flour
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 2 fairly large Bananas*, mashed
  • 1 C Chopped Chocolate or Chips, dark as you like it

For Topping:

  • 2 tbs Light Brown Sugar
  • 2 tbs AP Flour
  • 2 tbs Crunchy Peanut Butter
  • 1/4 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/4 C Chopped Chocolate or Chips, dark as you like it

  1. Preheat oven to 325°F.  Grease bread pan or use silicone bread pan as I do.  Place pan on a baking sheet.
  2. In a stand mixer with paddle attachment, mix peanut butter and sugar.  Add eggs and mix.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk flour, salt, and baking soda.  Add to peanut butter mixture and mix just until incorporated.
  4. Add mashed bananas and chocolate.  Mix just until incorporated.
  5. Pour bread mixture into prepared pan and set aside.
  6. Put all topping ingredients except chocolate in a small bowl.  Mix with a fork until crumbly.  Add chocolate and finish mixing.
  7. Sprinkle crumbs over unbaked bread mixture.
  8. Bake in 325°F oven for about 1 hr, 20 min., until a toothpick comes out clean.
  9. Cool on a rack and enjoy!

Store bread at room temperature in an airtight container.  Freezes well.

I hope everyone is having a lovely weekend!
~Carrie

*Great-Grandma’s original recipe calls for three bananas, but I have a sneaking suspiscion bananas these days are significantly larger than they were in the 1950’s.  I use two large bananas instead of three.  You’ll have to use your own judgment.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. tracy permalink
    February 27, 2010 6:35 pm

    What a great variation!! I am going to have to try this (bought baking supplies today) I am so glad you treasure the scrapbook!!

  2. Katherine permalink
    February 28, 2010 8:52 pm

    Oh my goodness this sounds good!

  3. conniex721 permalink
    March 1, 2010 12:15 am

    oh wow! this is on my to make list.

  4. March 1, 2010 12:49 pm

    This looks awesome! I love you sharing your grandmother’s recipes :)

  5. March 1, 2010 10:11 pm

    that looks SO delicious! If I show my husband right now he will make me go and make it right away.

    thanks for posting

  6. March 2, 2010 10:33 am

    Yum-o! We make a very similar loaf but I have never tried it with the peanut butter. Sounds great.

  7. Genevieve Stolz permalink
    March 4, 2010 3:21 pm

    I have been doing the same banana bread recipe for years, but one with peanut butter was intriguing to me (especially since pb is what I craved the most during my pregnancy!) and it was wonderful! thanks

  8. Vanessa permalink
    March 4, 2010 5:21 pm

    What is AP flour? This bread is made for me! I love peanut butter, and I love banana nut bread!

  9. March 5, 2010 1:11 pm

    This sounds delicious! The combination of flavors-chocolate, banana, and peanut butter sounds just so perfect! I am not normally a crunchy PB fan but this bread looks amazing!

    • March 5, 2010 2:28 pm

      We don’t normally eat crunchy PB either, but I think it adds nice texture and more depth of flavor. :)
      ~Carrie

  10. Heidi J permalink
    March 5, 2010 5:05 pm

    This sounds yummy! Have you ever tried using honey on your banana bread? My mom’s recipe uses honey and it adds a nice flavor to the bread.

    • March 5, 2010 8:13 pm

      On the bread? As in a glaze? I’m definitely interested! :)

  11. March 5, 2010 8:37 pm

    I made muffins out of this recipe since I didn’t have time to bake bread. I used a little less sugar and white whole wheat flour – it made 12 regular muffins (baked about 17 min) and 12 mini muffins (baked about 12 min). I think they’re delicious! My kids love them too. Thanks for the recipe!

    • March 5, 2010 11:50 pm

      Rebekah, That’s fantastic! Thanks for sharing! ~Carrie

  12. March 6, 2010 3:35 am

    That seriously looks amazing and got my mouth watering :) I’m definitely going to have to make that!

  13. March 6, 2010 7:39 pm

    I came SOO close to making this the other day. I will have to make it soon. Since it has bananas, it’s healthy, right? : )

  14. bakingg permalink
    March 10, 2010 8:13 pm

    This was insanely thick when i mixed it… What did I do wrong

    • March 10, 2010 8:44 pm

      I’m not sure… How big were your bananas? Perhaps you needed three? It is a quick bread, so it should be thick, but not unreasonably so. Maybe try again?

  15. Hayley permalink
    March 16, 2010 10:29 pm

    Just ate a piece of the final product, and it was reaaal tasty! My dad hasn’t made a decision on whether it’s good or not, so he wants a third piece. (;
    It didn’t quite look as pretty as the example picture, but it sure was good tasting. Haha, thank you
    G-Grandma!! :p

  16. elana permalink
    April 23, 2010 11:08 am

    in one word….AMAZING! i want to try to make it in cupcake/muffin form next. Thank you!

  17. Rae Higgins permalink
    May 16, 2010 1:49 pm

    This sounds delicious!

  18. Jane permalink
    August 26, 2011 8:26 am

    Very nice recipe.

  19. Jen permalink
    September 25, 2011 5:43 am

    Awesome recipe,

    I usually make the below version but decided to give yours a try and loved it :)

    Jen

  20. brayden permalink
    May 9, 2012 9:48 pm

    when i made it, before i cooked it a toothpick came out clean. but i did everything as instucted.

    • May 13, 2012 11:40 am

      I haven’t a clue how a toothpick would come out clean before you even bake the batter… Perhaps try again? :)

Trackbacks

  1. Baby Food Banana Bread «
  2. Oh Baby O’s Top 10 of 2010 |

Thoughts?

