Skip to content

8 Months: An Exclusive Pumping Update

February 18, 2010

Baby O turned 8 months old yesterday.  I can hardly believe it!  He has two teeth and is becoming more mobile by the minute.  I’m astounded by how quickly he’s growing and changing and catch myself trying to hold on to these moments.

Eight months old.  Eight months of Mama’s milk.  Eight months of pumping.  I feel like I’ve reached my own milestone in a way.  Eight months feels huge to me.  If I can get to eight months, I can certainly make it to one year, maybe even longer.

I see people stumble onto this blog looking for information on EPing all the time, usually via a search engine.  Sometimes the search terms I read nearly break my empathetic heart.  Occasionally, I get an email.  Usually, a few posts are read and the reader is on her way.  I’m not sure if my experience with EPing is inspiring or even helpful, but I do hope so.

These days I only have to pump 5x a day to get all the milk Baby O needs, plus some for storage.  I’ve been able to do this for about a month or so.  This past January, I found myself beginning to feel suffocated by the pumping, like we were scheduling our entire lives around that machine.  Rather than weaning, I just dropped a pump, gave myself a little more breathing room.  What I found was I could get just as much in fewer sessions if I just extended my second morning pump just a bit.  Five times a day feels totally manageable.  I don’t love pumping and I’d much prefer to breastfeed directly, but this is working and really, it’s not that bad.

So, if you stumble on this post looking for EPing information, I wish I could point you in the direction of an amazing book or support group.  Unfortunately, all I can offer you is my own experience, some of which is chronicled on this blog.  Have a look around and Good Luck!

~Carrie

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 4:22 pm

    There really should be more support for women who pump or who have trouble breast feeding beyond the usual scale of difficulties.

    I hope that everyone who wants to breastfeed does so without any problems, but I also hope that those who need help are finding this blog.

    Is there anyone out there who was helped by this blog that would like to share their experience?

  2. March 2, 2010 6:56 pm

    I commend you for ep’ing for that long. I honestly don’t think I could do it. I have extended breastfed both my girls, but I hate pumping and don’t know how to even get much when I do pump. So good for you! :)

    • March 4, 2010 12:30 pm

      Thanks Vanessa! I have to say, I would never judge a mama that chose not to pump. It takes a special kind of commitment and a lifestyle that will allow it! ;)

Trackbacks

  1. Review & Give-Away: Green to Grow «
  2. 13 Months: An EPing Success Story |
  3. Hello Old Friend «

Thoughts?

