Skip to content

Spring Quilt Along!

February 1, 2010

I’ve been wanting to quilt since I got my sewing machine.  Let’s see, was that 10 years ago now?  Yes, indeed.
I have big plans to make Baby O a quilt for his first birthday using his receiving blankets.  I thought it might be a good idea to give it a try first with some fabric that isn’t quite as precious as those little baby blankets.  Just last week, I stumbled on the On the Road to Spring Quilt Along being hosted by Randi of i have to say.  I was, again, inspired.  This quilt along is for a lap quilt (50″ x 60″), the perfect size for Baby O!
We were supposed to pick 10 prints for the rectangles and a neutral for the squares.  I ended up with a couple of solids in there and choosing a print (4th fabric from the top) for the squares.  I took a looong time choosing my fabrics.  I’m a little worried they aren’t going to work, but I’m hopeful that it will all come together brilliantly.  Oh!  I also grabbed some flannel (bottom of stack) for the back for extra coziness.

Carrie’s On the Road to Spring Quilt Along fabric stack.

This is our schedule:

week one–January 25th: choosing and preparing your fabrics

week two–February 1st: cutting the pieces for the quilt (all squares and rectangles)

week three–February 8th: sewing your quilt top together

week four–February 15th: assembling your “quilt sandwich”

week five–February 22nd: machine quilting

week six–March 1st: binding your quilt

I fear I’m already a little bit behind.  My fabric is chosen and washed and dried, but not ironed.  I’m not fooling myself thinking I can totally keep the pace presented by this schedule, but I’ll certainly try!  Randi says the posts will stay up for those of us that fall behind or join late.  :)

Since this is my first quilt(!), I’m looking for tips.  Any advice?  Any amazing books out there for a beginning quilter?

You can check out the quilt along here or click on the button in my right side bar.

Also, check out the flickr group here.


3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 11:10 am

    Okay, I checked out her tutorial and must say that she’s not doing things in the easiest manner possible. For one, don’t bother ripping your fabric to make a straight edge. All you’ll be doing is creating twice the work. Instead, line the top of your fabric up with the lines on your cutting mat, then use your see-through mat to keep everything in place while you cut the edge. This way, you skip the ripping and go right to getting a straight edge.

    The second, and bigger thing that I noticed is that you’re having to cut 100 squares. YIKES! This is how I did my first quilting project…then I learned about strip quilting and boy, did I fall in love. It’s a much, much faster and less painful method of quilting with squares and stripes. Unfortunately, I’m not sure about the end result of this quilt so I don’t really know how to tell you to skip the squares and instead use a strip quilting method. :-\ I learned about it through a Quilt-in-A-Day book.

    So since you’re having to cut a ridiculous number of squares, my best advice is to make sure each one is EXACT in the measurements. One tiny bit off, and your whole quilt will be off! You can also try to double your fabric layers while cutting to save time (cut two pieces at a time instead of one).

    Good luck! Great fabric selections!

    • February 1, 2010 12:12 pm

      100 squares! Gah! I read that this morning and just kind of felt overwhelmed… I’m a little concerned I’ve taken on more than I reasonably have time for. I guess we’ll see! ;-)

Trackbacks

  1. WIP Wednesday: Celebration Banner «

Thoughts?

