Skip to content

On Bottles and Bottle Reviews

January 29, 2010

I recently read a blog post that quite honestly hurt this exclusive pumper’s feelings.  I’m cringing as I read that, but it’s the truth.  The author of said post, a self-proclaimed lactivist (love that word), pretty much said that anyone promoting bottles in any way, including blog reviews, is part of a commercialized formula-inspired anti-breastfeeding movement in this country.  Ugh.

I also consider myself a lactivist.  Make no mistake as you read this blog, I am pro-breastfeeding.  I truly believe, whenever possible, breast is indeed best!  That’s just the thing though, it isn’t always possible and it certainly isn’t easy.  I agree, that usually with the help of a good LC most women can successfully breastfeed their babies.  Sometimes though, sometimes, things go differently.  Latch difficulties happen.  Illness happens.  Life happens.

When you read bottle reviews on this blog, you are reading only of my family’s experience with a particular product.  I am not, my baby is not, part of some pro-bottle, anti-breastfeeding agenda.  I would not even say I am promoting bottle use; I’m only telling of our experience.  I realize this particular post hit a sensitive nerve, and I am perhaps being overly sensitive.  That’s kind of the point though, sensitivity, ya know?*

Climbing off my soapbox now.  Latch on, mamas.  Latch on.

~Carrie

*I also realize there probably are some folks with pro-bottle agendas out there.  We do live in a capitalist society, after all.  The blog post I read was probably speaking more to that sort of thing, but hit a nerve nonetheless.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. nancy permalink
    January 29, 2010 11:19 am

    WOO go Carrie! I agree with you! I can see where that would hit a nerve, and boy does it! love you!

  2. January 29, 2010 11:37 am

    I agree totally. The people who argue that formula is best are few and far between. I would even venture to say that the people who do argue that formula is best have a secret agenda, like being the owner of a company that makes and sells formula. While formula has been overused in this country and breast milk is best, formula is not evil. I certainly don’t think there is a movement for the use of formula; perhaps just the opposite. The fact is, one thing needs to be set straight, bottle-fed DOES NOT mean bottle-fed formula. Most women can breastfed successfully, but not all. There will be women who, despite all the advice and help given from nurses in the OB, lactation consultant from La Leche League, doctor’s, midwives, family members, other mothers, cannot breastfed directly. It also must be said that difficulties with breastfeeding does not mean that baby can’t get breast milk. For those women who are determined enough and supported enough and willing, pumping breast milk into a bottle and giving it to baby is another option. Do not let anyone tell you that this doesn’t work because it does. You also don’t need to tell a woman who pumps breast milk that they should try to breastfed directly because, believe me, they know, and they would most often prefer it. If you have had difficulties with breastfeeding and you have overcome them, great! There are many people willing to help who can in a lot of cases, and if you are having difficulties, get help. But (I only start a sentence with but when it is important to have a transitioning thought in a separate sentence), people can always think of that one person who wasn’t able to do something or other. In this case, that one person turns into 1% (maybe more) which means that it isn’t just the fault of the parents or the baby. These are the women who should be praised most; The women who, in the face of a challenge that no one else can understand, find the strength to bottle fed breast milk in a growing society that looks at bottles as the epitome of bad mothering. So, no, bottles aren’t bad. The only bad in this case is a mother who decided to become part of the mass of the self-righteous, whoever you are, (which, less face it, is the most popular thing to do and the thing which is mostly likely to be the “commercialized” movement in this country) instead of the minority of people trying their best to help and understand.
    Unlike my wife, I will remain on my soapbox so if you want to be heard, you must find one made for bigger bars……

    • January 30, 2010 11:28 am

      Wow, honey! Maybe you’d like to guest-blog? ;)

  3. Tamara Szogedi permalink
    January 30, 2010 3:08 am

    Ok, I just have to say that without bottles, and my breast pump, and yes, even the occasional formula bottle for my son, I don’t know that I would have made it through a whole year of breast feeding, even though I was VERY motivated.

  4. Amanda permalink
    January 31, 2010 3:17 pm

    Most of us Mama’s out there do the best we can do for our babies. Little man was exclusively breast-feed and only had breast milk out of a bottle a handful of times, but I can tell you the road to getting a good latch was long and painful!!

Thoughts?

