Skip to content

Review & Give-Away: Rockin’ Baby Sling

November 24, 2009

Friends, Mamas, fellow Baby-Wearers, I’m thrilled to be offering you a review and give-away of the Rockin’ Baby Sling!
Have I told you yet how much we love babywearing?  We love love love babywearing!  The benefits of babywearing  have been huge to our family.  After our surgical birth, it was helpful to have all the extra snuggle time that babywearing enables.  I loved keeping my brand new baby close to me all the time.  I still do.  My husband also likes to keep Baby O close, especially when we are out in the world.

We’ve been using Rockin’ Baby Sling’s If Everyone Cared Organic Ring Sling (pictured right) for a couple of months now.  When the sling first arrived, I was beside myself with excitement!  I immediately opened it up, read the instructions, and then watched their youtube videos.  I had a bit of a learning curve as far as learning to properly thread the sling so that it can be easily adjusted.  After the initial adjustment period, we found using this sling to be a cinch!  There are five ways to wear your baby using the Rockin Baby Sling.  Our favorite ways are the snuggle hold and the hip carry as Baby O prefers to be upright.  Ring slings are wonderful because they are so easily adjusted.  This is especially nice if you want to share the sling with someone else, such as baby’s papa or grandma.

We currently have four different baby carriers, each has a preferred use.  The Rockin’ Baby Sling is great for quick trips out and about, such as to the store.  It is quick and easy to get baby in and out when on the go.  The long tail is nice because you can use it as a shield for baby or to cover while nursing.  When not in use, I often wrap the extra length of the tail around the rings to pad them.  The sling is reversible, making it more versatile and perhaps more appealing for papas to wear.  There is also a pocket on both sides.  We usually stow a pacifier and burp cloth in ours.

Aside from being beautiful, our particular sling is made from 100% organic cotton sateen and poplin.  Have you ever noticed how wonderful organics feel?  Mmm!  We try to go organic whenever we can.  I love using a sling I know won’t harm my baby with chemicals or pesticides!

One of the most impressive things about Rockin’ Baby Slings is the quality and their commitment to supporting their local economy.  I inspect seams when I buy pajama pants, so you can imagine how picky I would be about a baby carrier!  The Rockin’ Baby Sling is overlocked and seamed twice using 40 lb thread.  According to the information on the Rockin’ Baby Sling website, the sling seams were pull tested up to 1100 lbs before they gave way.  Woah!  Rockin’ Baby Slings are cut, dyed, and sewn in Los Angeles California by well-paid moms and dads, not outsourced.  They also have super duper customer service.  I’ve sent many emails back and forth with both Natasha and Lisa, the owners of Rockin’ Baby Sling.  They have been nothing but super nice and helpful.  If you have any questions about their slings, do not hesitate to contact them or check out their support page!

If ring slings aren’t necessarily your style, or if you aren’t interested in dealing with all that fabric, a Rockin’ Baby Pouch might be more your taste.

I always try new carriers at home for awhile before taking them in the world, just to be sure I fully understand how to use it safely and comfortably.  Please be sure to review all corresponding use and safety information completely before using this or any other baby carrier!

Would you like a Rockin’ Baby Sling of your very own?Yes!!!
Natasha and Lisa of Rockin’ Baby Sling are oh so very generously offering one very lucky Oh Baby O reader a Rockin’ Baby Sling (pictured right)!

Here’s how to enter:  (Required Entry)

Other optional ways to enter:
(Optional entries only count with participation in Required Entry!)

  • Follow/Subscribe to Oh Baby O (see sidebar).
  • Place the Oh Baby O badge on your blog (make sure it links) .
  • Become a fan of Oh Baby O on Facebook.
  • Follow Oh Baby O on Twitter (see sidebar).
  • Follow Rockin’ Baby Sling on Twitter.
  • Tell us your favorite way to wear your baby.
  • Tweet about this Review/Give-Away (one per week).
  • Tell us a second design you like from Rockin’ Baby Sling.
  • Name one benefit of babywearing.
  • Watch the Rockin’ Baby Sling videos on youtube.  Helpful!
  • Become a fan of Rockin’ Baby Sling on Facebook.
    I’ve mentioned it before, but it’s worth mentioning again…  It is often beneficial to become a facebook fan of your favorite brands.  It’s a great way to learn of awesome deals and give-aways.  During the month of November, Rockin’ Baby Sling is offering 40% off just in time for the holidays!  Amazing, right?  Join their facebook fan page or check out their site to learn more!

and for two extra optional entries you can:
(Again, optional entries only count if you participate in required entry!)

  • Blog about this Review/Give-Away linking back to Oh Baby O as well as to the Rockin’ Baby Sling website.  I’ll give you two entries since it requires two links!  (Be sure to leave two comments!)  Make sure to leave me a link so I can see your post.  The blog post has to be about this give-away only.  This is a fantastic give-away!  For two entries, it deserves it’s own post.  Thank you.

The more entries you have, the better your chances of winning!
Remember to leave a separate comment (2 for the blog post) for each entry along with a valid email address so you can be contacted if you win!

Please, for your own privacy, do not publish your email within the text of your comment.  I get all of them along with your comments in my account.  I have in the past deleted email addresses from comment text for you to protect your privacy, but I really don’t have time to edit every comment (though I do read each and every one).

Winner, to receive one Rockin’ Baby Sling, will be posted in two weeks (Dec. 8th).  Good Luck!

This give-away is open to U.S. addresses only.  Thank you.

~Carrie

Thank you to Natasha and Lisa of Rockin’ Baby Sling for their help during our review process.

Disclosure:  Please note, although an honest review, this review is based on free product samples provided to the author.

All images courtesy of rockinbabysling.com. 
58 Comments
  1. Keri permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:27 am

    my favorite sling is… oh my goodness, so hard to choose! ok, my favorite is, “love is all around”. But if I weren’t going for gender nuetral then I would totally choose “give peace a chance. I adore that one!
    shindylahoe at hotmail dot com

  2. Keri permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:31 am

    fan on facebook!
    shindylahoe at hotmail dot com

  3. Keri permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:33 am

    oh, I already told you the second design I like! I love the “give peace a chance” design!
    shindylahoe at hotmail dot com

  4. Melissa Abo permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:34 am

    Required Entry: My favorite is the sweet dreams one. I didn’t know they made slings that could hold up to 40 pounds. I know we didn’t have to say what we learned this time, but I was interested to learn that.

  5. Keri permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:35 am

    my favorite way to wear my baby (now 20 months old) with my preggo belly is in the hip carry. When she was a baby I liked the front carry.
    shindylahoe at hotmail dot com

  6. Melissa Abo permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:36 am

    Second prettiest…love is all around.

  7. Keri permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:37 am

    one benifit of baby wearing is that it makes breast feeding on the go possible!
    shindylahoe at hotmail dot com

  8. Keri permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:38 am

    I’m a fan of the rockin baby sling
    shindylahoe at hotmail dot com

  9. Melissa Abo permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:39 am

    Favorite way of babywearing: When she was little I kangarooed her. Now, I just keep her in a front carrier. Would be nice if there was some position that could keep her little hands farther from what’s in my hands, but I’ve never tried carrying her on my back before. Might feel weird not being able to see her.

  10. Melissa Abo permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:40 am

    Benefit of babywearing: It kept her upright when her GERD was really bad.

  11. Erin permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:05 pm

    I like the Love is All Around the best.

  12. Erin permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:05 pm

    blog follower

  13. Erin permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:06 pm

    OBO badge at ekirabo.blogspot.com

  14. Erin permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:06 pm

    FB Fan

  15. Erin permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:07 pm

    twitter follower @erinlitt

  16. Erin permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:08 pm

    rockin baby sling twitter follower

  17. Erin permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:08 pm

    i like to wear my baby in the moby wrap

  18. Erin permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:10 pm

    i also like the raspberry beret design

  19. Erin permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:11 pm

    my baby loves babywearing — i think b/c she can hear my heartbeat… very soothing and beneficial!

  20. Erin permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:12 pm

    rockin baby sling fb fan

  21. Genevieve permalink
    November 26, 2009 2:38 pm

    I really like “love is all around” but it was so hard to pick they are all so much fun.

  22. Genevieve permalink
    November 26, 2009 2:39 pm

    I have a 4 week old and a moby wrap and we love it for walks but I’m looking for another carrier that is easier to get baby in and out.

  23. Genevieve permalink
    November 26, 2009 2:41 pm

    We just found out that our little one has reflux so I think baby wearing will become my best friend even more so now. With this news I think I will be trying out many different type of carriers.

  24. Kelly permalink
    November 26, 2009 8:31 pm

    I love the “Everything is Gonna be Alright” print sling! Love the pattern! Also a FB fan!!

  25. Kelly permalink
    November 26, 2009 8:32 pm

    I really love the “Everything is Gonna be Alright” sling. Love the pattern!!! Also a FB fan!

  26. December 2, 2009 1:52 pm

    I don’t think it’s possible to have too many baby-wearing-apparatuses! We love the Rockin’ Baby Pouch we reviewed a long time ago…and I’d LOVE, LOVE, LOVE to have one of their slings! I like their organic ones the best, simply because they’re organic. :-) Thanks, Carrie for all of the time and effort I know goes into these contests and reviews! You do a great job and I’m jealous!

  27. December 2, 2009 2:01 pm

    I have watched the YouTube videos. Aren’t they great?

  28. December 2, 2009 2:03 pm

    I like to wear DD with her legs “indian” style, facing forward.

  29. December 2, 2009 2:04 pm

    My benefit remark is that babywearing is negatively correlated with the baby crying.

    • December 2, 2009 6:20 pm

      Really!?! I haven’t heard that one. Anyone saying that obviously doesn’t know their baby-wearing stuff! :)
      I’m totally with you on the “can’t have to many baby-wearing apparatuses”!
      PS NO need for jealousy here. Your blog(s) is (are) lovely!

  30. December 2, 2009 6:10 pm

    Ooh hard to pick. I like the sweet dreams, the dream on, and the beautiful day. I guess I like the various shades of purple–and butterflies. : )

  31. December 2, 2009 6:11 pm

    I follow your blog!

  32. December 2, 2009 6:12 pm

    I’m your fan on Facebook!

  33. December 2, 2009 6:12 pm

    I follow you on Twitter!

  34. December 2, 2009 6:13 pm

    I follow Rockin’ Baby Sling on Twitter!

  35. December 2, 2009 6:19 pm

    I love wearing Clara in my mei tai. It’s been wonderful for her young life. She’s a little chunk and I can hardly feel her weight. : ) Recently though, I’ve pulled out my sling again and begun using it. She wants to see what’s going on AND she loves to be held by me, not pushed in the cart or in a stroller, so putting her in the hip carry is terrific on both of us. The other day at church, though, I snuggled my nine month old down into my sling in the craddle position and she went to sleep! For two hours! I looked a bit ridiculous with my big baby tied to me, but she stopped fussing and drifted off so quickly that I didn’t care.

  36. December 2, 2009 6:20 pm

    I’m a facebook fan of Rockin’ Baby Slings. I DO learn about great deals and giveaways on Facebook now. I love it.

  37. December 2, 2009 6:21 pm

    Oh, I already said this, but my second favorite sling pattern is either Dream On or Beautiful Day. So lovely.

  38. December 2, 2009 6:25 pm

    A huge benefit of wearing Clara on me is . . . oh wow, so much. I can feel her heartbeat and her breathing. She NEVER cries being that close to me. She sits up and takes notice of her world, often smiling at strangers from her higher vantage point. I talk to her about the things that we see together, and very often she falls asleep. Could there be a better way to get my baby from here to there? Plus, I have back support, free arms, and can go a lot longer before tiring than when I just hold her in my arms.

  39. December 2, 2009 6:29 pm

    I watched the very helpful video. I like all the detail. Pretty sling too. I watched videos when I first put Clara in a sling. She was so tiny! I felt like she was going to smother inside of it. I finally settled on an upright carry. Then we moved on to the mei tai and now we’re back to the sling! Great stuff!

  40. December 2, 2009 6:30 pm

    http://twitter.com/home

    Tweeted!

  41. Jackie permalink
    December 4, 2009 11:47 am

    My favorite is “Give Peace a Chance”….so pretty!

  42. Jackie permalink
    December 4, 2009 11:47 am

    I follow already.

  43. Jackie permalink
    December 4, 2009 11:47 am

    Second favorite is “If Everyone Cared”

  44. Jackie permalink
    December 4, 2009 11:48 am

    I’m a fan on facebook!

  45. Jess W permalink
    December 7, 2009 11:15 am

    I love the Somebody to Love pattern rign sling.

  46. Jess W permalink
    December 7, 2009 11:18 am

    I subscribe to Oh baby O in Google Reader.

  47. Jess W permalink
    December 7, 2009 11:19 am

    I have the Oh Baby O button on my blog.
    http://lifewithboobooandbug.blogspot.com

  48. Jess W permalink
    December 7, 2009 11:20 am

    I am a fan of Oh Baby O on Facebook.

  49. Jess W permalink
    December 7, 2009 11:21 am

    I follow Oh Baby O on Twitter. @graceandbrynley

  50. Jess W permalink
    December 7, 2009 11:21 am

    I follow Rockin’ Baby Sling on Twitter.

  51. Jess W permalink
    December 7, 2009 11:24 am

    My 4 month old loves to sit in our Peanut Shell pouch facing the world now that she can hold her head up.

  52. Jess W permalink
    December 7, 2009 11:25 am

    My second favorite Rockin’ Baby Sling is the “rockstar” print. I just love the Pink zebra print!

  53. Jess W permalink
    December 7, 2009 11:26 am

    One benefit of baby wearing for me is that it really helps with colicky babies!

  54. Jess W permalink
    December 7, 2009 11:27 am

    I am a fan of Rockin’ Baby Sling on Facebook.

  55. Jodi permalink
    December 7, 2009 11:44 am

    I like Wings of a Butterfly, so pretty!

  56. Jodi permalink
    December 7, 2009 11:46 am

    Second favorite is Beautiful day.

  57. Jess W permalink
    December 7, 2009 6:52 pm

    I have watched the Rockin’ Baby Sling videos numerous times already (hoping to win one or save up the money to buy one!).

Comments are closed.

