Skip to content

Let’s Talk Vaccines

November 2, 2009

Whether or not to get both the seasonal flu vaccine and/or the H1N1 vaccine is likely on the minds of most parents right now.

I got a flu shot for the first time ever this year.  After a lot of reading and talking to various professionals, B & I decided it was the best thing to do to protect Baby O, even if indirectly.  However, last year at this time, while I was pregnant, you probably would have had to hold me down to get me to get a flu shot.  This year, I had them give me the low-preservative one they give pregnant ladies since Baby O is breastfed (kind of).

Now, the big decision is whether or not to get the flu vaccines for Baby O at six months.  He is too young until December, but I’m curious what other parents are doing.  Our midwife, whom we adore and whose opinion we hold in high regard, generally does not recommend vaccinating for the seasonal flu or H1N1.  Our pediatrician recommends both for all children six months and older.  When I asked the pediatrician’s office what the risks of a flu vaccine are, they said the only thing to worry about is a possible egg allergy.  (Chicken eggs are used in making flu vaccines.)  Common sense tells me that can’t be the only thing to worry about.

Are you vaccinating for the seasonal flu? H1N1?

What about other childhood vaccines?
Do you vaccinate as recommended by the CDC/AAP?
Do you follow a delayed schedule?  An alternative schedule?
Do you decline vaccinations altogether?

While pregnant, when talking to our midwife about childhood vaccines, she told us about Dr. Tenpenny.  We’ve also taken a look at the Sears’ Vaccine Book, as well as this article published by the AAP.  We have weighed the risks and have so far vaccinated as recommended by our pediatrician and the CDC.  Things start getting a little more tricky for us when considering the less mandated vaccines, such as the flu vaccines.

I’m curious what other parents are deciding.  Please share your choices and decision making process.  I realize this is a hot button issue.  Please remember to respect each other as well as differing decisions/opinions.  We’re all just trying to do the best we can to protect our children; sometimes this results in different parenting decisions.
(If you already answered on the Oh Baby O Facebook page, feel free to C&P!)

~Carrie

Update: After a lot of reading and talking to our pediatrician, we decided to go ahead with both the seasonal flu vaccine and the H1N1 vaccine.  Baby O has completed both sets and we haven’t had a single side effect.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 3:18 pm

    NPR has also taken upon itself to answer a few questions about the flu vaccines. Listen to and/or read the article here…
    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=114299697
    We look forward to your responses!
    -B

  2. Mindy permalink
    November 3, 2009 8:27 pm

    All of the research I have done says to vaccinate for the regulars and the flu shots. As you both know, I have no children, but from my friends’ experiences, which I could share in more detail if you would like, I would do it if I did have kids.

    • November 4, 2009 11:21 am

      You did tell me about your friends’ experiences. Sad.

  3. November 3, 2009 10:14 pm

    My oldest and I have asthma that’s triggered by viruses, sometimes even the weakest cold will set it off. My little one has been on an inhaler once during his first year so only time will tell if he winds up with it too. Since we fall into the higher risk group, we always get flu shots.

    As far as the rest go, I’ve read both the Dr. Sears book and the AAP’s rebuttal. To me, the science given by the AAP trumps Dr. Sears’ opinions. Our physician is a heck of a lot smarter than I am, she’s not one to run to pharmaceuticals for every sniffle and she does not recommend alternative schedules or declining a vaccine. I trust her opinion as a physician in a private practice rather than an online doctor who spams my inbox with his own brand of vitamins.

    • November 4, 2009 9:06 am

      Candi~ I know! I ended up just marking the Sears emails as spam since all I ever got was junk about whether my child is getting enough Omega 3s, never anything worth reading!
      Also, I know the flu can be very dangerous for those with asthma… and I agree with you, our pediatrician has a lot more medical education than we do! Stay healthy! :)
      ~Carrie

Thoughts?

