Skip to content

Free Pattern: Ribbed Cowl

September 25, 2009

After some thought, I decided to repost this pattern.  I used to ask people not to sell items made from this pattern.  After further thought, I’ve decided that what folks do with their own work is their business.  However, since the pattern is free, I ask that you do credit your source.

If you are someone that gives handmade gifts during the holiday season, you’ve probably already started!  Anticipating a serious time crunch after the birth of Baby O, I actually finished my handmade gifts in May this year. Cowls are great for holiday gifts. They are easy, relatively quick to make, take one skein or less (meaning you can spend more $$$ on nicer yarn since you need less), and they look fabulous! I wear mine all day in the cooler months.  This particular cowl was designed for my sister.

The ribbing in this cowl makes it easily stretch to fit over the wearer’s head and then pull back together to fit closely and warmly around the neck.

I made this cowl with hand-dyed sock yarn and an H hook. Gauge really isn’t important. You should be able to eyeball this just fine. Pattern is worked in multiples of 4 + 2.

Ribbed Cowl:

Ch 35
Row 1:  sc across beginning in 2nd ch from hook (right side), turn.
Row 2:  ch 2 (counts as first dc), dc in 2nd sc from hook, *ch 2, sk 2, dc 2, repeat from * across in back loops only, ch 1, turn.
Row 3:  sc across in back loops only.

Repeat rows 2 and 3 to desired length, ending with a row 3.

To finish:  sc across in both loops.  Fold cowl end to end with right side together and sc ends together.  This will create a rather thick seam that I like.  (Look closely at the second photo and you can see the seam along the back.)  If you want something thinner or less visible go with a slip stitch or whip stitch binding.  Cut and weave in ends.  I just weave my ends through the “spine” created when the ends are sc together.

To make cowl taller or shorter add or subtract stitches from your base chain of 35, just be sure to do it in multiples of 4.

Flipping this cowl “inside out” will create a different texture.  This can be your “right side” if you prefer.

Cowl can also be worn like a headband.

This pattern can be found on Ravelry here.

Please do not reprint or distribute in any form without author’s permission.


24 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 1:31 am

    I LOVE this tute! I just finished my scarf and Im totally in love with it – you can see the post here :) Thank you SO much – I wore it out to dinner tonight to celebrate!
    http://365dayscreationchallenge.blogspot.com/2010/03/172its-finished.html

    • March 4, 2010 12:29 pm

      So glad you like it. I’m going to check out your post right now! :)

  2. Linda R. permalink
    March 4, 2010 12:40 pm

    Oh, Carrie, I am so glad to see that you re-posted this pattern. I love this pattern! I made alot of these for Christmas presents this last year and they were a big hit. My one daughter says that when her neck gets too warm she just pulls it up and uses it for a head band when she is at work. I also love your recipes and hubby really enjoys them too (he loves the goodies!). Keep up the great work you do. You are a joy.

  3. Rae Higgins permalink
    May 16, 2010 1:52 pm

    I LOVE this pattern! I haven’t made any cowls as I haven’t found a pattern this pretty. Thanks for sharing!

  4. October 10, 2010 1:53 am

    wonderful! i will start and crochet one myself. really love it!

    i’m linking. i hope you’ll agree.

    thanks, doro.

  5. December 26, 2010 5:00 pm

    Hi! I posted a link to your pattern on my blog, The Crafting Compendium, on my post about cowls. If you would like me to remove any reference and link to this pattern, please let me know.

  6. Catherine S permalink
    December 29, 2010 2:44 am

    I just made this and it is AWESOME!!!! It’s super soft and pliable (although that might be because I actually used decent yarn for once) and will hopefully be somewhat warm, but is also really cool looking! And it was really fast and easy to make too :D Thanks so much for posting this tutorial! You ROCK!

  7. Angela permalink
    January 6, 2011 6:05 pm

    I hope you don’t mind a question from a newish crocheter…
    When I get to the second time doing row 2, I always end up not having enough room to do two last dc. On the first row of it there are 8 spaces(holes), but the second time I only have 5. I’m guessing I am dropping stitches somewhere, but I have tried this 3 times and have so far gotten the same issue. It would be really helpful to know how many chains/stitches are supposed to be in each row so I can count as I go across.
    Thanks!

    • January 7, 2011 12:37 pm

      Hi Angela!
      You should have 34 stitches in each sc row and 8 spaces in each dc row. I can tell you, for sure, that you should consistently have the same number of “holes” each pattern repeat. The only thing I can think to suggest without actually seeing your work, is to be sure you aren’t missing any stitches. Have you been sure to crochet in to the last ch of each row? I remember as a newer crocheter, I would sometimes miss that last one! Hope that helps!

      • Angela permalink
        January 7, 2011 6:07 pm

        I think I just need to watch my stitches more closely. For some reason, after the row of dc, some the tops of the stitches are really small, almost knotted looking and hard to see. I think that’s what my problem was.
        Thanks for getting back with me and thanks for the free pattern!

  8. May 20, 2011 5:49 am

    Am down under from you (Australia) so we’re having winter now. Have made your great cowl & also wrist warmers & leg warmers from your pattern, which is terrific!!! Thank you so much! Annie.

  9. Carolina permalink
    June 4, 2011 1:26 am

    Thank you very much for sharing this pattern!

  10. Cali Co permalink
    November 29, 2012 9:28 pm

    Hmmmm I have 2 chains left after wrkg the oringinal 35 (2nd Row)any suggestion as to what I may be doing wrong? I so want to make this! Thanks

  11. christina h permalink
    December 4, 2012 1:56 am

    i just realized my issue, the issues the other girls were having as well. when you say “dc 2” you’re meaning 1 dc in next 2 st…correct? doing this will leave u w/the correct amount of chains w/no problem. i was doing 2 dc in 1 st.

    • December 4, 2012 4:25 pm

      I honestly haven’t crocheted this (or much of anything, for that matter) in a couple of years… So, I’m not certain, but I think you are correct.
      My apologies for not being more clear! :)

  12. Kerri permalink
    December 21, 2012 10:12 am

    I absolutley love this pattern! So pretty and delicate. Im making for my mom for christmas (talk about cutting it close!). I wanted to try and make it so that instead of pulling it overhead, it could be buttoned around the neck. It needs to be a little bit longer though for that. Do you think ch 41 would work? I’m still new at this but seem to be picking it up fairly easily. Numbers and pattern making are still over my head though. Thanks for any help and for sharing this pattern!

  13. chris hatt permalink
    December 31, 2012 2:26 pm

    i didn’t have any issues w/the site. maybe if u hold ctrl & the “-” button down it will make the fonts small then maybe it’ll show up or open the website in a different browser like internet explorer or firefox, etc.

Trackbacks

  1. Blue Monday « This Year's Dozen
  2. Quick Knit Gift Guide 2010 |
  3. Oh Baby O’s Top 10 of 2010 |
  4. Honey Cowl «

Thoughts?

