Skip to content

Pumping II: Pumping While Traveling & Lansinoh Review

September 15, 2009

A couple of weeks ago we had our first big excursion since Baby O’s birth.  We were out for a total of seven hours.  I thought it would be a perfect chance to test the Lansinoh manual breast pump.  I was right.
To get ready, I pumped directly before leaving and packed an insulated lunch bag with an expandable top.  In the bottom insulated part I kept a couple of ice packs with prepared bottles.  In the top expandable part of the bag, I put the pump along with a few breast milk storage containers.  I also added a few Lansinoh disposable nursing pads to Baby O’s diaper bag.  During our visit, I just kept the whole bag in the refrigerator.

When it was time to pump, I just went into the spare bedroom and locked the door behind me.  Good news!  The Lansinoh manual pump worked great.  It barely took me any longer to use the manual pump than it does to use the hospital grade pump.  This is the first time I’ve used a manual pump.  I was a bit nervous because I haven’t heard good things about them.  I found it to actually be more comfortable than my other pumps.  (I have a couple.)  While it isn’t my pump of choice for EPing everyday, the Lansinoh manual pump is great for a day trip!  After pumping, I just placed my filled storage containers in the insulated part of the bag, put the cover back over the pump, and put it all back in the fridge until we went home.  I pumped again in the car on the way home in very much the same manner.  No big deal at all!  (Phew!)

During our visit, I also had a chance to try the Lansinoh disposable nursing pads.  Due to our “green” lifestyle, I usually use washable cotton nursing pads.  I keep a couple disposables in the diaper bag just in case.  After my first pumping session, I noticed my cotton nursing pads were… ummm… a bit saturated, so I grabbed the disposables.  They worked great, plus they are thinner than the cotton.  That said, I didn’t like the way they felt after I removed them when I got home.  I’m not sure what is in the disposable pads to make them so absorbent, but I prefer the cotton.  I’ll definitely keep them around for emergencies though!

In our next Pumping post, we’ll talk breast milk storage and review breast milk storage bags.

Don’t forget to enter our Lansinoh give-away here!

Disclosure:  Please note, although an honest review, this review is based on free product samples provided to the author.

Thoughts?

