Skip to content

Guest Blogger: Brown Eyed Baker Makes Italian Wedding Soup

August 4, 2009

Our next guest blogger has a blog name I love so much I wish I’d thought of it myself!  I’ve been following the Brown Eyed Baker AKA Michelle since she began blogging in early 2007 and couldn’t be more please to have her guest blogging with Italian Wedding Soup. 
Thanks Michelle!

When Carrie reached out to fellow bloggers asking if anyone would be interested in doing guest posts while she adjusts to life as a new mom, I was excited at the opportunity to help out a fellow blogger. I was thinking through what I wanted to feature for my post and decided to revisit my very first blog post of Italian Wedding Soup, which was originally posted in February 2007. Looking back on that post makes me smile in a way that I’m sure many parents do when they look at pictures of their children taking their first steps. I started my blog without a real idea of where I was going, just the notion that I wanted to start moving. I wanted to do more, learn more, and challenge myself more in the kitchen and after having seen exactly one food blog, I thought it would be a great creative outlet since I enjoyed writing and that it would keep me motivated to try new things. I look at that first post and smile when I see the small picture, taken from a distance, with one line of intro prior to the recipe. I’m proud of how far I’ve come and am excited to see where my blog will go in the future.

 

italian-wedding-soup-meatballs ©Brown Eyed Baker

As an Italian, Wedding Soup is something that I grew up eating, mostly around holidays. When I was young, my grandma used to always make it on the night before Thanksgiving and on Christmas Eve. Many people in my family make it a variety of ways, and my version is basically a combination of my favorite aspects of each. With wonderfully tasty meatballs and the addition of shredded chicken, this is an incredibly hearty meal that is perfect for any day of the week – no need to wait for a holiday to make this!

italian-wedding-soup2©Brown Eyed Baker

Italian Wedding Soup

Meatballs:
1 lb. ground beef
1 small onion, grated
4 T. grated parmesan cheese
1 tsp. salt
2 T. bread crumbs
1 tsp. dried basil
1.5 tsp. dried parsley
2 egg whites
Combine all ingredients and shape into small (1/2″) meatballs. I refrigerate mine while I prepare the rest of the soup, which helps them hold their shape.

Shredded chicken:
1 lb. of boneless, skinless chicken breast, cooked and shredded. (You can use a store-bought rotisserie chicken or boil the chicken yourself.)

Soup:
2 T. butter
1 small onion, diced
1/2 c. sliced carrots (approximately 2 carrots)
1/2 c. sliced celery (approximately 2 stalks)
1 clove minced garlic
12 c. chicken broth
Salt & pepper to taste
3/4 c. acini di pepi or other small pasta
8 oz. fresh spinach, chopped.

Melt butter in stockpot. Add onion, celery, carrot, and garlic, and cook until veggies are tender, but not too soft. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
Add chicken broth and bring to a boil. Turn heat down, cover and simmer for approximately 30 minutes.
Drop in meatballs and cook 10 minutes. Add pasta and cook for an additional 6 minutes. Add spinach and cook for an additional 3 minutes. Add in shredded chicken. Cover again and allow to simmer for another 30 minutes or so. You can eat as soon as the chicken is re-heated, but allowing it to simmer for a little longer allows all the new flavors to meld together.
Serve with grated Parmesan cheese.

Stop by Brown Eyed Baker and check out Michelle’s wonderful recipes!  You won’t be disappointed!

Don’t forget, if you’re interested in guest blogging at CKC, please contact me!   Non food bloggers are welcome as well!

More Soup Recipes:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2009 6:28 am

    Carrie, sounds delicious but I can’t see the photos? :-( I’ll come back later and hopefully I will see them.

  2. August 5, 2009 5:06 pm

    I love the ways this recipe was written, easy to follow and I could visualize the steps. I often have to screen products in my profession and Italian Wedding soup is one of them. The food service versions are all poor, they use the wrong pasta at times, are thickened with starch and have rubber meatballs. Everyone that I know loves this soup and this recipe is a great one to prepare as is or to add your own twist. Thanks for the post!

Trackbacks

  1. Italian Wedding Soup: Guest Post on Carrie’s Kitchen Creations : Brown Eyed Baker – A Food & Cooking Blog

Thoughts?

