Skip to content

Guest Blogger: HoneyB Bakes Blueberry Banana Bread

July 31, 2009

Our second guest blogger has a great way to use up those blueberries I know you are all running out and picking right now!  Shelby AKA HoneyB of The Life and Loves of Grumpy’s HoneyBunch has made Blueberry Banana Bread for us! 

Last week when Carrie asked if anyone would be interested in guest blogging for her while she continued to adjust to life with her new baby I immediately knew I would be willing to help her out!  I have been busy myself at home which has kept me out of the kitchen quite a bit but I knew I could whip something up that I could blog about and share with Carrie!

BBB3HB

I had some bananas that were going bad quickly and I had a recipe in my head that I had seen on 3 different blogs that I was really wanting to try.  This recipe first showed up on Leslie’s blog, The Hungry Housewife.  Leslie called this her “Ultimate Banana Bread.”  Then Cathy of the The Noble Pig made this recipe because Leslie “said it was the best.”  Cathy concurred.  Next, Pam of For the Love of Cooking followed suit and made this recipe for herself and called it “excellent!”  After three of my favorite bloggers made this recipe I decided I was next.  After all, I had those bananas talking to me and I had some blueberries in my freezer that have been begging me to use them. 

Pam changed the recipe a little bit to suit what ingredients she had on hand so I followed hers the closest.  I used the non-fat vanilla yogurt in place of buttermilk like she did.  The only thing I did different from Pam was I used coconut extract instead of vanilla….well, because I had some and because I love coconut! 

BBB2HB

The bread turned out awesome.  I loved the flavor and it was very filling.  I would have liked to have copied Cathy and slathered my slice with lots of butter, but I am still being a “good girl” and keeping my food as low fat as possible.  So I forwent the butter.  Maybe next time ;-)

BBB1_HB

I am happy to have the opportunity to be a guest on Carrie’s Blog and I want to thank her for letting me do so and if Carrie lived closer I would have been more than happy to have shared this bread with her!  Not to mention, I wouldn’t mind snuggling a new baby either….

Shelby aka HoneyB
The Life and Loves of Grumpy’s Honeybunch

Doesn’t that look amazing!?!  I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before but blueberries just happen to be my favorite summer fruit!  B and I have plans to take Baby O blueberry picking very soon.  I’ll definitely be making some of this bread to try!  Be sure to head over to Shelby’s blog and check out her other yummy recipes!  Thanks Shelby!

If you’re interested in guest blogging at CKC, please contact me!   Non food bloggers are welcome as well!

Some other ways to enjoy bananas and blueberries include:

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2009 9:01 am

    Thanks for having me as a guest Carrie!

  2. July 31, 2009 9:14 am

    Honey B does it again! that bread looks divine, I have to make myself a loaf now after reading this

  3. July 31, 2009 9:20 am

    A delicious loaf Shelby:D

  4. July 31, 2009 3:10 pm

    Waaahoooo..thanks for the shout out! I am glad my bread is loved by all!!

  5. July 31, 2009 4:51 pm

    Looks truly wonderful!

  6. August 3, 2009 10:21 am

    I love bananas and blueberries. Now why did I not ever think of combining them? :) This looks delicious!

  7. August 3, 2009 10:50 am

    Now that looks incredibly moist! Good call on the coconut extract, too!
    ~ingrid

  8. August 5, 2009 8:01 am

    Mmm great twist on one of my favourites, banana bread.

  9. September 26, 2009 10:16 am

    Nice recipe from HoneyB! a great combination, something I’d love to scarf in an instant! lol

Thoughts?

