Skip to content

Guest Blogger: B Makes Zuccanoes

July 21, 2009

I’ve decided to try something new here at CKC, guest blogging!  I’m going to try to do this on a weekly basis for at least the rest of the summer and then decide where to go from there.  I think it’s a great way to share some blog-love and help generate a little more traffic for everyone involved.  If you’re interested in guest blogging at CKC, please contact me!   Non food bloggers are welcome as well!

Now without further hesitation we have our first guest blogger, my wonderful husband and maker of all dinners, B!

It was the middle of July when the first one finally came. The excitement had filled balloons under my feet as I floated to the backyard that afternoon.  The whole thing had just exploded.  It was like a heavily guarded fortress, shadowed under enormous, pyramid-shaped clouds.  I was the creator, the cargiver, reaching through them as if to say, “You have exceeded all expectation, and now it is time.”  I pushed forward the small, serated knife, I had been holding in my hand, careful not to jab anything put that of my eye’s intent.  I pierced it, plucked it, and pulled it from its birthplace.  It was perfect.  I, B, had grow my first summer sqaush, and it was now time to make zuccanoes.

©B Baker

I found this recipe in the Moosewood cookbook by Mollie Katzen. I wanted the first sqaush I used from the garden to be the main part of the meal it was used in. This recipe was perfect. I could leave the shell intact and admire the squash as I ate.

©B Baker

I did modify the recipe to make two servings and to fit what ingredients I had available. To increase the serving amount, simply double or triple the ingredients.

Zuccanoes
Adapted from Moosewood Cookbook by Mollie Katzen

  • 1 medium/large zucchini split down the middle, lengthwise
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, minced
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 large diced, portabella mushroom cap
  • 2 or 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup cooked (brown) rice
  • 1/4 cup almonds (if desired)
  • 1 T lemon juice (fresh is better)
  • dash of black pepper and cayenne pepper
  • fresh herbs (I used parsely because that it what I buy now, but any would be great. I think cilantro would be divine.)
  • 1/2 cup grated cheese (Any would be fine. Swiss would be best, but I only had mozarella and it turned out great).
  • 1 batch vegetable puree ( I skipped this entirely, but I am sure it would be a great addition).
  1. After zucchini is cut down the middle lengthwise, scoop out the inside with a spoon until you have made a nicely hollowed out canoe.
  2. Heat olive oil in pan and add onion, salt, pepper, and garlic. Sautee until translucent (5 or 6 min).
  3. Add zucchini innards and mushrooms. Turn up heat slightly (I recommend leaving the heat where it is at and letting it cook another minute or two if you have stainless steel pans) and let most of the water from the zucchini evaporate.
  4. Stir in remaining ingredients and cook until it is all assimilated into a glorious mash in which to stuff a zucchini.
  5. Stuff the zucchini.
  6. Bake at 350 until top of filling is crispy (20-30 minutes).
  7. Serve and consume.

Enjoy!

Some other ideas for zucchini include:

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 27, 2009 10:48 pm

    These look very tasty!

Thoughts?

