Skip to content

PB Cookies Revisited

May 31, 2009

I believe a good peanut butter cookie is hard to come by.  As I said in this post, I’m picky.  I said I like them more on the crisp side, but that really isn’t true.  The peanut butter cookie I crave is more on the tender side, almost like a good shortbread.
This peanut butter cookie recipe is still the best I know.  I tweaked it a bit this time, replacing 1/2 the shortening with butter.  The results are still amazing and now have the added bonus of a little butter flavor.

The new recipe looks like this:

Peanut Butter Cookies
Approx. 4 dozen cookies.

  • 1 C peanut butter (I use creamy)
  • 3/4 C light brown sugar
  • 3/4 C sugar
  • 1/4 C shortening
  • 1/4 C unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 3/4 C flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tbs milk

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Mix peanut butter, both sugars, shortening, vanilla, and milk.
2. Beat in the egg.
3. Add flour and baking soda. Mix.
4. Drop by spoonful (I use a teaspoon-sized scoop) onto ungreased cookie sheet. Press with fork in a criss-cross shape.  Feel free to sprinkle a pinch of extra sugar over the fork-pressed cookies.  I don’t sprinkle the sugar because there is already a lot of sugar in there.  I don’t think they need it on top as well.
5. Bake at 375°F for 7 minutes. It is very important not to over-bake these cookies! If baked for the right amount of time, they will melt in your mouth (kind of in the manner of the most magnificent shortbread). Over-bake them and they are a bit too chewy; really over-bake them and they are like rocks. They may not seem completely done. Don’t fret, they are fine.  Let cool for a couple of minutes on the pan before transferring to a rack to cool completely.

Yet another tasty variation of the PB cookie can be found here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2009 9:06 pm

    I am not PB Cookie picky – I will eat any and all kinds ;)

  2. June 1, 2009 10:27 am

    I dearly love peanut butter cookies – these look really great!

  3. June 10, 2009 4:50 pm

    Mmm, yours look good too. More like a traditional peanut butter cookie than mine, I think. All the same ingredients as mine – just in different quantities!

Trackbacks

  1. Cloverleaf Rolls « Carrie’s Kitchen Creations
  2. Rice Pudding Revisited « Carrie’s Kitchen Creations

Thoughts?

