Skip to content

More Strawberry Rhubarb

May 22, 2009

…and this is just as delicious as the pie!

I’ve decided to pamper myself today.  I’m eating some of this and watching Jimmy Sterwart movies all day.  Oh yes indeed.
This is Dorie Greenspan’s Strawberry Rhubarb Double Oatmeal Crisp.  When I first read the name of this recipe, I thought “double crisp” meant it would have double the crisp on top.  *drool*  To my delight, the name really means crisp both on top and on bottom!  The bottom crisp sort of serves as a crust, allowing you to scoop semi-neat squares out with a spatula.

A couple of notes on the recipe:

  • I did not have any candied ginger around so I added a little extra oatmeal and a tad more ground ginger to the crisp.
  • I also added a few more walnuts, because I just don’t feel 1/2 C is enough!  :)

We had our crisp with french vanilla ice cream.  It also makes a very tasty breakfast!

Don’t forget there’s still time to play The Waiting Game!  I’ll take entries right up until the birth (provided no one cheats)!
I’m secretly starting to wonder if Baby O will stay in there forever given all the yummy food he’s constantly being supplied with!  We’ve been having a lot of amazing dinners lately (thanks B!).  To be honest, I’m not sure I’d be in a hurry to leave that comfy womb either!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. cbandj permalink
    May 22, 2009 5:46 pm

    I have to try this! Just picked up some Rhubarb from the Farmer’s Market! My husband is going to LOVE this for breakfast! Thanks!

  2. May 22, 2009 8:09 pm

    I actually haven’t made this Dorie recipe yet but it looks great. I just made a strawberry rhubarb ripple ice cream that would be perfect with this.

  3. Tracy permalink
    May 26, 2009 5:11 pm

    We are going to try this, as we have all the rhubarb we want out back. I have to pick up some of the ingredients this week. I have no idea why the sudden urge to bake???

  4. May 28, 2009 1:40 pm

    All this strawberry and rhubarb is making me crazy – this is one of my favourite flavour combos and your stuff looks delicious… And as for baby, if I knew my supply of this stuff was going to be cut off and I’d have to subsist on boring old milk for the next umpteen months, I wouldn’t come out either!

  5. May 30, 2009 10:03 pm

    i love anything w/a “Crisp” topping

Trackbacks

  1. Around Here «
  2. Mother’s Day |

Thoughts?

