Skip to content

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie: Oh My My!

May 17, 2009

As previously posted, B and I were given some rhubarb on Mothers Day.  I’m not sure I’ve ever had strawberry rhubarb pie even though it is my own mother’s favorite!  (She’s more into eating them than baking them I guess. ;) )
I looked at a bunch of recipes and decided to use a filling recipe found on Good Things Catered (thanks Katie) with Dorie’s good for almost anything pie crust.

I made the crust a single crust at a time since my food processor is on the smaller side.  No big deal.  I baked the pie an extra ten minutes at the end without the foil to help the crust brown a little bit, making a total baking time of 80 minutes.  I also had every intention of making a lattice crust but ran out of time and skipped it.  It was pretty anyway.  :)

The pie turned out perfectly!  I was afraid that it would be runny with all those strawberries in there, but it wasn’t at all.  It was very pretty coming out of the oven but I did not photograph it because we had guests.  Although it doesn’t need it, I think it might be perfect with some homemade vanilla ice cream.  Mmmm!

P.S.  Don’t forget to play The Waiting Game!
…and if you do decide to play, make sure you include an email address when filling out the comments form.  I can’t send your cookies if I’m unable to contact you!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2009 12:19 pm

    looks delish! I actually prefer a high crust ratio, so I’m sure it tasted as good as it looks!

  2. May 18, 2009 9:06 pm

    Oh yay! It looks so great! I’m so glad you liked it. I love pie. :)

Trackbacks

  1. More Strawberry Rhubarb « Carrie’s Kitchen Creations

Thoughts?

