Skip to content

Classy Individuals

April 19, 2009

So I have lots of things to talk about today, but first I want to mention this:

My husband is in this band (blues).  They are wonderful.
Their music is now available on Amazon.com and will also be available on iTunes in a few weeks (if for some reason you are opposed to Amazon).
Buy it.  You’ll love it!

There’s also this:

Yep.  That’s me… and Oliver.  :)  We’re nearly 35 weeks along now!  I still have big plans to do maternity photos with a more flattering outfit and brushed hair, but for now this is what we have.
©B.Baker

There’s also this:

Charlie, our “first born”.
©B.Baker

Oh and yes, this is still a food blog!  ;)
I don’t post as often as I used to …  I’m a little distracted with the creation of a person, a whole person.  Amazing!
Anyway, I do still bake and I thought it might be fun to address some things I’ve made in the past few non-posting months and not posted about.
Unfortunately, these items are lacking photos.  If that makes you sad, please refer to above photograph of Pomeranian.

Some Successful Dorie Items:
Allspice Muffins–  So quick and yummy.  These are great for breakfast!  I add some lemon extract to mine.  Mmmm!
Pecan Honey Sticky Buns–  We’ve discussed these before, but they are worth mentioning again.  This has to be one of the best recipes in the book!  I’ve also made them with walnuts with equally satisfying results (assuming you’re a walnut fan, and I am)!
Creamy Cheesecake, a basic–  I made this for Christmas and most certainly included the crust.  It was absolutely the BEST cheesecake I’ve ever had.  Dorie makes me feel like a rockstar occasionally and this was definitely one of those occasions.  I used 1 C heavy cream and 1/3 C sour cream in mine.

Some not-so-Successful Dorie Items:
Banana Cream Pie-  I know the TWDers recently made this and most gave it great reviews.  It didn’t do much for me.  I prefer a vanilla pastry cream in my banana cream pie.  I also didn’t really love the sour cream in the topping.  That said, I’m not much of a banana cream pie connoisseur to begin with…
Chocolate Chip Cookies-  These cookies tasted very good, but were too flat and crisp for my taste.  I still maintain that my own choc chip cookies are the best.  Yep, that’s what I said.
Rice Pudding-  Mine never thickened!  I was so sad!  I did however find that Nigella Lawson’s recipe for stovetop rice pudding is fabulous!  B said it’s the best rice pudding he’s ever had!

Of course take all of this with a grain of salt (as they say).  It’s entirely possible that all of these recipes could have been totally successful.  My brain has been a bit mushy lately and my kitchen skills sometimes follow in suit.  Besides, maybe you like jazzed up pastry cream and crispy choc chip cookies!  ;)

P.S.  I forgot to mention last time that I used almond extract in my raspberry blanc-manger instead of vanilla extract.  Very good.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 23, 2009 10:46 am

    I totally agree, it’s hard work growing a baby! I had to laugh at your recipe reviews. I loved the cheesecake too but had the same issue with the rice and the chocolate chip cookies. I’ll have to check out your recipe (I’m always looking to improve my favorite cookie!)

Thoughts?

