Skip to content

Chocolate Peanut Butter Crispy Bars

March 4, 2009

The food blogging community is a funny place.
I actually first saw these bars on facebook and followed the link to Shelby’s blog here.  She found them on Laura’s post here, and Laura found them on Deb’s blog here.  Fun, right?
I decided to make these for our new neighbors using the recipe posted at Smitten Kitchen.  There are lots of great photos and the recipe is laid out very neatly.  You should definitely head over there and check it out!
My bars seem to have a darker middle (choc. PB layer) than the others I’ve seen, and all I can really say to explain that is that I used semi-sweet chocolate instead of milk (yuck) chocolate.
Oh!  and I completely forgot the butter while making the crispy layer.  oops!  As far as I can tell, it didn’t make any difference!  ;)

These bars don’t really need tweaking. They are very good as is, buuut I think next time I make them I’ll add a tiny bit of cinnamon to the choc pb layer and maybe a little espresso (and perhaps even some sea salt?) to the choc icing layer.
I suppose I could have spent some time in photoshop cleaning up the little crumbs, but then I thought why bother?  There are crumbs.  So what?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2009 2:06 pm

    Yes, semisweet is the way to go.

    Ever nibble on a bar of Michel Cluizel Noir Infini chocolate? It’s 99% cocoa. It’s not sweet at all (very bitter), and a small nibble will give you a buzz! :-D But for everyday chocolate, I do like a lower cocoa content in the 70-80-ish% range.

  2. Jillian permalink
    March 21, 2009 11:13 am

    Yuumy – very nice!

    I’ve added you to my cooking blogroll. Hope that’s okay. :)

  3. June 12, 2009 10:16 am

    When you see the same recipe on multiple blogs, you have to know it’s good! Now I need to try these.

  4. June 14, 2009 8:43 am

    Just found your blog (and this recipe) through tastespotting. A surprisingly easy recipe and a great blog!

Thoughts?

