Skip to content

Tribute to K.H. Brownies

September 29, 2008

I made these brownies in anticipation of a visit from my mother and a friend of hers.  By time mom came to visit, three days later, I had eaten all but three of them!
Perhaps I should have been a little embarrassed, but no such luck.  There were still enough for both her and her friend to have one…  and I made a tarte tatin with some apples from the Farmers’ Market just in case!
I do not have a photo of the tarte tatin.  I timed it so it would finish baking shortly after they arrived and it could be served warm (with homemade whipped cream).  I didn’t have the nerve to make someone that just met me minutes before wait while I got the tripod out.  Next time I won’t hesitate.
I can only be that gracious once!  ;-)

Back to the brownies:  While I was perusing Baking for something sweet to make for mom’s impending visit, I was really intrigued by the Katharine Hepburn Brownies.  There is surprisingly little flour in them (1/4 C)!

Ms. Greenspan also tells us a lovely little story at the beginning of the recipe.
These brownies have now replaced the Deep Dish Brownie as my “go to brownie”.  I never thought it would happen!
You can find the brownie recipe here on NPR.

P.S.  Recently I heard from a couple of friends telling me how much they enjoy my blog.  I do believe they were poking fun at me.
I think a brownie or two might change their minds.

You know who you are (E&L)!  ;-)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2008 4:56 pm

    I swear I gain pounds just looking at your photos!

  2. Carrie of CKC permalink*
    October 5, 2008 5:15 pm

    ;-)

Trackbacks

  1. POM Wonderful Brownies « Carrie’s Kitchen Creations
  2. Guest Blogger: Carrie of OJO Bakes Old-Fashioned Organic Brownies « Carrie's Kitchen Creations

Thoughts?

