Skip to content

Chocolate Ganache Ice Cream

September 2, 2008

Since getting our ice cream maker, I’ve learned over and over again that home made ice cream is about a zillion times better than the store bought stuff. Before now, I have only used eggless recipes. It’s not that I’m anti-egg, I was just too impatient to make the custard and let it cool before I could even make the ice cream, let alone eat it. I’ve read several times now that while eggless recipes are very good, they just can’t compare to the richness of ice cream made with a custard. Yesterday I realized I just happened to have all the ingredients for Dorie Greenspan’s Chocolate Ganache Ice Cream (including exactly four egg yolks left over from this month’s DB challenge).

Of course, everything I read was correct. Custard ice cream is awesome! It is rich and creamy beyond reason, totally worth the little bit of extra time it takes to make and cool the custard!!!

Dorie adds a note that the ice cream can become very firm upon freezing, especially if you use high quality chocolate. When I took mine out this morning for photos (yep. Ate ice cream for breakfast. It’s a tradition in my family. My sister does it too.), it was so hard I couldn’t really scoop it. I let it sit on the counter for 10 minutes are so and all was well.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2008 6:07 pm

    You can’t go wrong with a Dorie recipe, I loved this one when I made it. It was so creamy and rich. Looks great!

  2. September 4, 2008 5:28 pm

    I made this ice cream and loved it. We swirled in raspberries. Very delicious!

Trackbacks

  1. Last of Summer Ice Cream Round Up! « Carrie’s Kitchen Creations
  2. Guest Blogger: Erin Makes Peach Ice Cream « Carrie's Kitchen Creations
  3. Around Here «

Thoughts?

