Skip to content

Happy Blogiversary to meeee!

August 10, 2008

After rolling it around in my mind for awhile and trying to decide what to make for my First Blogiversary, I decided to go with the recipe that started it all, the very first recipe on CKC, a recipe that wasn’t even accompanied with a photo:

Chocolate Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies!

While making my No-Bakes this afternoon, I thought about my blog, our first year of marriage, and some things that have changed since last August.
I’d say the biggest change is our move (thank gooooodness!)!
The other “big change” is actually a cumulation of many small changes over time, our lifestyle (our diet)!

After reading the “old” No-Bake recipe today, it occurred to me that while I still make the cookies in the same way, I make them very differently than I used to. Most of the ingredients I use now are organic. In fact, everything is organic except the milk and butter. (We do have some organic vanilla soy milk in the fridge, but that’s not what I used for the cookies.) I have to tell you, honestly, I think organic tastes better. It just does. (…and I feel less guilty eating a cookie that is mostly sugar if it’s organic!) ;-)

Every now and then, I like to get a little preach-y about the changes we’ve made in our lifestyle (Really, it’s true.). It’s not that I mean to preach, I just get excited. Next thing I know, I’m a one woman testimonial to all things “green”. I love telling people how easy it can be and how those changes really can stick, especially if you do it slowly. We’re still changing all the time and we’ve found that the things that really “stick” are the changes we’ve added one at a time. If we had tried to completely overhaul the way we lived before we were married (the way our parents lived) all at once, I think it would have been too overwhelming. Slowly but surely seems to be the way to go for us.
I can’t wait to see where we are next August!

Chocolate Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies:
Yields 18 cookies

  • 2 C sugar (organic, F-T, ground until fine)
  • 1/4 C unsweetened cocoa powder (organic, F-T)
  • 1/2 C espresso or milk or coffee (coffee is always organic, F-T)
  • 1/2 C butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla (mine is homemade from an organic vanilla bean)
  • 1/2 C peanut butter (organic)
  • 3 C oats (organic)

1. Slowly bring first 4 ingredients to a rolling boil* (otherwise cookies won’t set properly) and boil one minute, stirring constantly.
2. Remove from heat.
Stir in vanilla and peanut butter until melted.
Then add oatmeal.
Mix.
3. Drop by spoonful onto wax paper and let cool (will set much more quickly if refrigerated).
Enjoy! -)

*A rolling boil is a boil uninterrupted by stirring.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2008 7:26 pm

    Those sound delicious and they look even better, glad you decided to put a photograph to the recipe. Happy blogiversary to you!

  2. August 10, 2008 9:10 pm

    T loves no bake cookies. Your recipe is different than mine so I put it on my must-bake list! Happy blogiversary and many more…
    /Clara

  3. joelen permalink
    August 10, 2008 11:48 pm

    Happy Blogiversary! Those no bake cookies look wonderful!

  4. August 11, 2008 11:44 am

    These look delish! Happy Blogiversary to you!

Thoughts?

