Skip to content

TWD: Double Crusted Blueberry Pie

July 8, 2008

The pick for this week’s TWD is Double Crusted Blueberry Pie and as I said last week, Amy of South in Your Mouth must have read my mind! Blueberry pie is my all time favorite fruit pie and a perfect 4th of July pie (for those of you in the U.S.)!

I must say, Dorie never lets me down! This pie was delicious (and red, white and blue, thanks to my deep dish pie plate)! Everyone loved it. This blueberry pie was honestly a close tie to my Mother-in-Law’s pie and that’s quite a feat! My 5 year old sister even declared it “Perfect!”. How often do 5 year olds give compliments like that?

For the top of the pie, I decided to try a twisted lattice crust. I thought it might be difficult but with this tutorial by Marye guiding me, it was a breeze. Mine doesn’t compare to hers, but with practice maybe I’ll get there. ;-)

My only disappointment with this pie (if you would call it that since I wasn’t that upset about it) is that I ended up with some sugary chunks on the top of the finished product (you can see them through the lattice top). I think this could be remedied by either mixing the filling a little more before putting it into the crust or by adding less flour/sugar to the mixture. I think it would still thicken just fine.

I apologize for not having a slice photo to share with you, but the pie was gobbled up so fast, I didn’t have a chance with my camera!

Next week’s recipe for TWD comes from Melissa of It’s Melissa’s Kitchen. I’m unsure if I will be able to participate because we will be out of town from the 10th through the 14th. I’ll do my best!

Some other tidbits on this recipe:
~ I used a stale piece of ciabatta bread for the bread crumbs. It worked great, and no, you cannot taste them.
~ I used a pastry cutter for the pie dough. It worked fine, as it always does. Thanks grandma!
~ I sprinkled raw organic cane sugar over the top of the pie before baking.
~ I forgot to do the egg wash. ooops!
~ Since I did not have a lemon hanging around, I did not add the lemon zest.  I did however have lemon juice, so at least that made it in!
~ I had to cover my pie with foil for the second 1/2 hour of baking to prevent the crust from burning.

Happy Baking!
~CKC

41 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2008 8:21 am

    I love the photo of your sister with a blueberry face. Isn’t that cuter than the piece of pie anyway? Your twisted lattice work is lovely.

  2. July 8, 2008 8:43 am

    Looks great and love the use of the red pie plate for the 4th. Good job!

  3. July 8, 2008 8:58 am

    A twisted lattice top sounds so tricky. Great job! I like the rustic table/deck you’ve put the pie on in the first photo.

  4. July 8, 2008 9:11 am

    great job, Carrie! I love blueberry pie, and the lattice looks great!

  5. July 8, 2008 9:23 am

    Amy~ The cuteness of my sister can beat any pie, any day! How’s that for proud? ;-)

    Shari~ That’s my grandparents’ picnic table. It’s old, sturdy and HEAVY!

    Marye~ Thanks so much! It probably would have been a mess without your tutorial! :-)

  6. July 8, 2008 9:24 am

    I have to agree with your lil sister, because it sure looks perfect!

  7. July 8, 2008 9:25 am

    Your lattice looks incredible, great job really. And I would just give anything to get a compliment from a five year old. Good old honest kids.

  8. July 8, 2008 9:28 am

    Oooh that looks awesome. I was afraid of doing a lattice. The little girl is just adorable. Don’t you love when kids give out compliments like that?

  9. July 8, 2008 9:45 am

    Awesome lattice! And who can blame everyone for eating it all before you got a slice photo?

  10. July 8, 2008 9:50 am

    I love the twisted lattice top! What a great presentations!

  11. July 8, 2008 9:56 am

    What a beautiful pie-I love it on your little sister’s face.

  12. July 8, 2008 10:13 am

    Fantastic looking pie Carrie, but what does it for me is the sweet picture of your little sister! How adorable! Your latticework is perfect!

  13. July 8, 2008 11:29 am

    That lattice top looks great, nice job!

  14. July 8, 2008 11:39 am

    I can see why it was gobbled up so quickly, it looks delicious!

  15. July 8, 2008 12:00 pm

    I love the picture of your daughter with the pie on her face. Really cute! The lattice looks great. I always want to try it, but it scares me a little.

  16. July 8, 2008 12:14 pm

    Absolutely beautiful!!

  17. July 8, 2008 12:22 pm

    geez that lattice work is fantastic…no wonder it disappeared!

  18. July 8, 2008 1:20 pm

    I did the pastry cutter for my dough too. Your pie looks fabulous!

  19. July 8, 2008 1:44 pm

    gorgeous pie! i love your sister’s pie-covered face, hehe.

  20. July 8, 2008 3:19 pm

    I want to learn how to lattice a pie so badly!! yours looks perfect! job well done!

  21. July 8, 2008 4:08 pm

    Your pie looks wonderful! I’m glad you liked it

  22. July 8, 2008 4:50 pm

    Looks great and I love the little pie stained face…how cute is that? I like your little helps at the end…those are always nice to read and I always learn something from them, and also plan to do something differently myself from a suggestion I find there. Thanks for sharing.

  23. July 8, 2008 4:56 pm

    I love the twisted lattice… someday (when I’m more confident with pie crust) I will have to try it. And I’m with Kayte… the pie stained face says it all. Great job!

  24. July 8, 2008 7:21 pm

    That is such a pretty pie! Love the twisted lattice. I’m going to have to give that tutorial a try.

  25. July 8, 2008 7:43 pm

    I would say that the blueberry pie face is as good, or better than a picture of the sliced pie! It’s priceless! Beautiful job with the pie!

  26. July 8, 2008 8:32 pm

    Beautiful! It looks so good!

  27. July 8, 2008 9:43 pm

    You did a great job on the lattice top – looks lovely!

  28. July 8, 2008 11:48 pm

    Love the twisted lattice top….beautiful job!

  29. Erin permalink
    July 9, 2008 1:00 am

    Your pie is beautiful! I love the lattice crust.

  30. July 9, 2008 1:11 am

    The twisted lattice looks like it turned out wonderful! Great job!

  31. July 9, 2008 2:27 am

    Beautiful pie!! And what cute photos of your taste-tester!! It looks fabulous! :)

  32. July 9, 2008 6:20 am

    I forgot the egg wash too, but I don’t think it made a difference in your pie, it looks fabulous! Thanks for the twisted lattice crust link!

  33. July 9, 2008 9:18 am

    The lattice is great — I’ll have to try that sometime.

  34. July 9, 2008 12:25 pm

    what a classic picture …. stained mouth! love your lattice.

  35. July 9, 2008 2:16 pm

    Cute idea to twist the lattice!

  36. July 9, 2008 4:23 pm

    love the twisted lattice crust!

  37. July 9, 2008 5:40 pm

    Your pie looks great–I love the lattice twist!

  38. Kelly D permalink
    July 10, 2008 12:01 am

    The lattice looks perfect. I used foil at the half hour mark as well.

  39. July 11, 2008 6:05 pm

    I had those same little sugar chunks. Love your pie!

Trackbacks

  1. Fare Thee Well, TWD « Carrie’s Kitchen Creations
  2. Guest Blogger: HoneyB Bakes Blueberry Banana Bread « Carrie’s Kitchen Creations

Thoughts?

