Skip to content

Carrie Bakes: Strawberry Celebration Cupcakes

July 5, 2008

As you know from my previous post, my youngest sister graduated Kindergarten! You may also know that the Strawberry Celebration Cake I tried to make for her flopped (just a little)! Fear not, I did not give up my strawberry dreams! I decided to revamp the recipe to make cupcakes (and this time I was smarter than to try to use a whipped cream frosting in June)!
Welcome to the debut of my first solo cupcake recipe: Strawberry Celebration Cupcakes! While I had a little help from Dorie, using her perfect party cake as inspiration, I believe I’ve ventured far enough away from the original to call this recipe my own. :-)

Since I was unable to take the cupcakes to my sister’s party (this time anyway as I think they will make a grand reappearance at her birthday party later this summer), I decided to give some to our new neighbors as a “welcome gift”. I put them in a basket with some napkins and a note. When I gave them to our new neighbor, she asked me if I’m a chef. How sweet is she!?!

For the Cake:

Ingredients:

1/2 lb ripe strawberries
2 C all purpose flour (I use King Arthur)
1 Tbs baking powder
1/2 tsp fine sea salt
1 C buttermilk or sour milk*
4 egg whites
1 1/2 C sugar
1/2 stick (1/4 C) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla extract (I use organic fair-trade, no alcohol)
squirt of lemon juice

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 350°F.

2. Remove stems from strawberries and mash in a small bowl. (I use a potato masher.) Squirt with lemon juice and set aside.

3. Sift the flour, baking soda, and salt into a medium sized bowl.

4. Whisk egg whites and then whisk egg whites and milk together.

5. Using a whisk attachment on a stand mixer or a hand-held mixer, beat the sugar and butter together until light and fluffy.
Beat in the vanilla extract.

6. Add 1/3 of the flour mixture to the butter and sugar mixture. Beat in just until incorporated. Add 1/2 of the egg and milk mixture. Mix again. Add 1/2 of what is left of the flour mixture and beat in. Add the rest of the egg mixture and beat. Add the mashed strawberries just before the rest of the flour and mix until everything is well incorporated. You may want to scrape the bottom of the bowl with a rubber spatula just to be sure you get everything.

7. Line a baking sheet with a silicone mat and place cupcake liners on top. Fill cupcake liners 3/4 full. Bake at 350°F for about 35 minutes.
Let cool on a rack and frost.
Use any extra strawberries for decoration.

For the Frosting:

Ingredients:

3/4 C unsalted butter, room temperature
1/4 C shortening
4 C confectioners’ sugar (about 1 lb)
2 tsp vanilla extract
3 Tbs heavy cream

Method:

1. Mix butter, shortening, and sugar in a stand mixer with a paddle attachment or with a hand-held mixer in a medium bowl.
Add the vanilla and mix.

2. Add the heavy cream one tablespoon at a time until desired consistency.

*To Make Sour Milk:
For each 1 C of Milk, pour 1 tbs of white vinegar into the bottom of measuring cup. Pour in enough milk to equal 1 C of liquid. Set aside for a few minutes for milk to sour. Use in place of buttermilk.

In Other News:
I have been made an Administrator on Blake Bakes (Yay!!!). There are some wonderfully talented bakers in this group! Be sure to stop by and check us out!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2008 12:26 pm

    These look beautiful and delicious! Congratulations on creating your own recipe- it looks wonderful!

  2. July 5, 2008 4:25 pm

    Well, your blueberry buttermilk pancakes are one of my favorites, so I think I’ll give this a try as well!! I’ve tried several strawberry cake recipes and never found one that is as good as the cake in my head.

  3. July 7, 2008 12:54 am

    Thanks so much for checking out my blog! Your cupcakes turned out adorable looking!

  4. July 20, 2008 1:19 pm

    that is an awesome photo of the cupcake!!

Thoughts?

