Skip to content

World Peace Cookies

June 25, 2008

Lately life has been a little tough around here. I’ve been thinking a lot about Forgiveness and Empathy. As a creative person, I’ve been looking for expressive ways to heal. Naturally I’ve turned to baking and what better thing to bake than a cookie known as the “World Peace Cookie”?
Without further detail, let me introduce you to my new favorite cookie:
Dorie Greenspan’s Korova Cookie (a.k.a. World Peace Cookies).
I’ve been eying this recipe for a long time and with the abundance of cakes and other confections I’ve been making lately, I’ve really begun to miss cookies! Sweet simple, grab by the handful, delicious, youthful… cookies!
These cookies are best described as a chocolate shortbread with chocolate chunks and a delightfully surprising touch of fine sea salt.
Not only are these my new favorite cookie, I have to admit, this is my new favorite cookie dough as well! ;)

Korova Cookies (aka World Peace Cookies)
Adapted From Dorie Greenspan‘s Paris Sweets

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I use Organic Fair-Trade)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 stick plus 3 tablespoons (11 Tbs) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2/3 cup (packed) light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon fleur de sel or 1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract  (I make my own)
  • 5 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped into chips, or a generous 3/4 cup store-bought mini chocolate chips (I use Organic, Fair-Trade)

1. Sift the flour, cocoa and baking soda together.  I just whisk them together.

2. Working with a stand mixer, preferably fitted with a paddle attachment, or with a hand mixer in a large bowl, beat the butter on medium speed until soft and creamy. Add both sugars, the salt and vanilla extract and beat for 2 minutes more.

3. Turn off the mixer. Pour in the dry ingredients, drape a kitchen towel over the stand mixer or use a guard to protect yourself and your kitchen from flying flour and pulse the mixer at low speed, a second or two each time. Take a peek — if there is still a lot of flour on the surface of the dough, pulse a couple of times more. Continuing at low speed, mix for about 30 seconds more, just until the flour disappears into the dough — for the best texture, work the dough as little as possible once the flour is added, and don’t be concerned if the dough looks a little crumbly.  It’s best not to overwork a shortbread! Toss in the chocolate pieces and mix only to incorporate.

4. Turn the dough out onto a work surface, gather it together and divide it in half. Working with one half at a time, shape the dough into logs that are 1 1/2 inches in diameter. Wrap the logs in plastic wrap and refrigerate them for at least 3 hours. (The dough can be refrigerated for up to 3 days or frozen for up to 2 months. If you’ve frozen the dough, you needn’t defrost it before baking — just slice the logs into cookies and bake the cookies 1 minute longer.)  I’ve frozen the dough and it works out fine, but I usually have better results with fresh dough.

5. Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Line two baking sheets with parchment or silicone mats.

6. Using a sharp thin knife, slice the logs into rounds that are 1/2 inch thick. If the cookies come apart as you cut them, just lightly smoosh them back together.  Arrange the rounds on the baking sheets, leaving about 1 inch between them.

7. Bake the cookies one sheet at a time for 12 minutes — they won’t look done, but that’s just the way they should be. Transfer the baking sheet to a cooling rack and let the cookies rest until they are only just warm, at which point you can serve them or let them reach room temperature.

I did have just a bit of trouble slicing my cookies when I used regular sized chocolate chips rather than mini ones. I definitely recommend using the mini chips, or better yet, chopped chocolate.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2008 8:28 am

    I’ve made these a few times, and every time it seems like half the cookie dough gets eaten without being baked. Seriously good cookies.

  2. June 25, 2008 10:45 am

    Those look sinfully delicious! I wish I lived near you, i’d be sampling all your goodies. Well that amongst other things lol

  3. June 25, 2008 3:29 pm

    Can’t wait to try these!!

  4. June 25, 2008 6:30 pm

    Chocolate shortbread and fleur de sel??? How quickly can I fire up my oven?!!

  5. June 25, 2008 10:44 pm

    these look delicious! i wonder how they got their name though. perhaps if you give them everyone no one would have anything to fight about anymore?

  6. June 26, 2008 6:03 pm

    OMG Carrie! these look sinful! I so wanna grab a few of these right now!!

    btw, I’d like to invite you to participat ein the Healthy Cooking contest that I’m hosting on my blog! do thake a minute to check it out:)

  7. June 30, 2008 12:52 pm

    These were the first (and only) thing I made out of Dorie’s book before joining TWD. I agree, they are delish!

    (and I’m with you on cookies. I wish someone would pick some plain old cookies on TWD, lol)

  8. tawnee permalink
    December 22, 2008 11:09 pm

    I just made these cookies – and it seems like they have too much butter in them or something – and I don’t think they are that good
    am I doing something wrong?

  9. December 23, 2008 1:15 pm

    tawnee~ It’s tough to say. Are you certain you put the correct amount of butter in? They have much less butter in them than most other shortbread-like recipes I’ve seen… I don’t think they taste too buttery. Perhaps you measured wrong. Or maybe you just don’t like them! ;-) I think it would be worth trying again.

Trackbacks

  1. wonderment » Blog Archive » Must Have More Cookies!
  2. Gettin’ Stuff Done « Carrie’s Kitchen Creations
  3. World Peace Revisited « Carrie’s Kitchen Creations
  4. Holiday Sabbatical «
  5. Holiday Baking «

Thoughts?

