Skip to content

TWD: Blueberry Cobbler

June 24, 2008

Good Morning sweet readers! It’s Tuesday again and we all know what that means, TWD! :) This week we have the Mixed Berry Cobbler on pages 416-417, chosen by Beth of Our Sweet Life.

As you can see, my cobbler is not “mixed” at all, it’s all blueberries. Berries still have not reached full swing in this part of the country. The only thing that can be found at the farmer’s market right now are strawberries (and Dorie suggests we shy away from those since they are watery). I could have used frozen berries but I’ve been dying for some fresh blueberries! I LOVE blueberries… So I broke the bank, went to the grocery store and bought some blueberries. I’m not sorry! They were everything I hoped they would be!

After reading the comments of the other TWD bakers, I began to grow nervous about the cobbler topping. Some referred to it as “bland”, others “tasteless”. I didn’t want anything to take away from the glory of my precious blueberries, so I decided to add a little pizazz to the topping. I kept the topping recipe exactly the same and just added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground clove (thought it would go nice with the blueberries), and then sprinkled some organic raw cane sugar over the top before baking.

I also decided to serve mine with homemade whipped cream rather than ice cream. The result? It was pretty good. I think I’ll try other recipes before making this my “go to” cobbler recipe, but I certainly would not call it bland or tasteless. :)

The full recipe for this week’s TWD can be found on Beth’s blog. Also, be sure to stop by the TWD blog to check out all the other Berry Cobblers! Next week we have Apple Cheddar Scones on page 32-33, chosen by Amy of South in Your Mouth.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2008 11:18 am

    Looks great and glad you enjoyed your blueberry only cobbler!

  2. June 24, 2008 11:34 am

    Your cobbler looks so pretty! My dad is a total blueberry pie fan, and I’m sure this cobbler would make his day!

  3. June 24, 2008 12:37 pm

    it looks so pretty and delicious! the fresh blueberries sound fab :)

  4. June 24, 2008 1:04 pm

    Blueberries sound divine, your cobbler looks delicious!
    Ulrike from Küchenlatein

  5. June 24, 2008 1:18 pm

    Such a pretty cobbler, and blueberries sound like a wonderful stand-alone berry for it.

  6. June 24, 2008 1:29 pm

    Fresh berries are the best! It looks absolutely divine! Great job sweetie!

  7. Erin permalink
    June 24, 2008 2:05 pm

    Your cobbler looks delicious. Straight-up blueberry cobbler is my favorite!

  8. June 24, 2008 2:22 pm

    YUM! Looks delicious!

  9. Kelly D permalink
    June 24, 2008 2:38 pm

    Your baking dish is perfect for this cobbler. Looks great.

  10. June 24, 2008 3:07 pm

    carrie- it came out really nice! I love blueberries! I hope to go picking here in the next couple of days if time does not get away from me

  11. June 24, 2008 6:55 pm

    An all blueberry version sounds great!

  12. June 24, 2008 8:59 pm

    Fresh blueberries, my mouth is watering! Looks delicious!

  13. June 24, 2008 9:49 pm

    Glad you went all out with the blueberries…the end result looks delicious!

  14. June 24, 2008 10:35 pm

    Cinnamon, cloves, and raw cane sugar – delicious!

  15. June 24, 2008 10:38 pm

    I love blueberries – what a great choice. Our blueberries aren’t quite in season yet so I might have to make this again…

  16. June 25, 2008 1:54 am

    Cloves sound like the perfect foil for fresh blueberries… great choice!

  17. June 25, 2008 8:34 am

    An all blueberry cobbler sounds delicious! And I agree with your choice of whipped cream, beautiful!

  18. June 25, 2008 11:29 am

    Sounds delicious! Looks delicious!
    Shari@Whisk: a food blog

  19. June 25, 2008 8:00 pm

    I’m so glad you liked it, especially since you splurged and got blueberries, which sounds incredible by the way.

  20. June 25, 2008 9:22 pm

    Looks really good!

  21. June 26, 2008 10:24 pm

    Oh, lovely! I’ve been looking at everyone’s choices of fruit and now I want to make EACH ONE including your all-blueberry version. Of course that would mean eating cobbler every night for months ;) … maybe I’d better not…

  22. June 27, 2008 1:04 pm

    Your blog features a delicious array of recipes; the way you’ve chosen to present your recipe collection is admirable. We’d like to pass along a gift to you; it’s an acclaimed service that any cook with a recipe collection would feel honored to use. Please email sophiekiblogger@gmail.com if interested.

Thoughts?

