Skip to content

TWD: Peppermint Cream Puff Ring

June 17, 2008

This week’s TWD, the Peppermint Cream Puff Ring, was chosen by Caroline of A Consuming Passion. Great pick Caroline!

As usual, what a treat we had this week! A giant puff pastry ring filled with peppermint cream and topped with a chocolate glaze and sliced almonds. Yum! This was my first time working with pâte à choux, so naturally I had some ups and downs. My downs however, were not with the choux, that was gorgeous!

The choux was shiny and soft and just beautiful. My problems were with the cream. Since I could not find any mint leaves (or even a plant!) worth buying, I relied solely on peppermint extract for my mint flavor. I just added 1 tsp to my heavy cream before whipping and it worked wonderfully.
Then I added the sour cream mixture… Uh Oh… my cream was ruined from there. Although I folded it in ever so lightly, it became runny, useless and even looked kind of curdled! Down the drain it went!
I made the cream a second time and just skipped the sour cream part altogether (so I basically just had a minty whipped cream). This worked great and honestly I didn’t miss the sour cream addition at all! The only problem after that was that I wish I’d had more cream to fill the puff, but that can be easily remedied next time. If I make this again, I also think I’ll make individual puffs and just place them in a ring. Then the presentation is still beautiful but serving can be as well.

As stated last week, most TWDers (including this one) will no longer be posting the full recipe on their sites. We’ve decided to compromise by taking turns and let whomever is hosting that week post the recipe. So please head over to A Consuming Passion for the full recipe and a look at Caroline’s Peppermint ring! Also, don’t forget to check out the rest of the TWD blogs!

Next week’s recipe is Mixed Berry Cobbler on pages 416-417, chosen by Beth of Our Sweet Life, a looong time favorite blog of mine!

38 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2008 8:06 am

    The choux paste really was beautiful, wasn’t it? Your ring looks fabulous!

  2. June 17, 2008 9:01 am

    Carrie! Your ring looks fabulous! I would love to sink my teeth into it! Mine was such a flop! All I did was prove that once again I have not been alble to master the art of choux pastry! You certainly have it down to a fine art. It’s funny that your cream did not work out with the sour cream added. One can never tell eh? I bet the whipped cream was probably tastier anyways! Will e-mail you after I have given some thought to you know. I have therapy this afternoon for my feet so will have lots of thinking time then. :-)

  3. megan39 permalink
    June 17, 2008 9:15 am

    That looks so great! Mine flopped but it won’t deter me from making it again. Your photos are amazing. Will you please come to my house and take pictures?

  4. June 17, 2008 9:49 am

    That looks great! So fluffy and wonderful!

  5. June 17, 2008 10:21 am

    Beautiful job on the creme puff…beautiful photos!

    I also like the idea of making little balls and placing them in the circle (although I am fairly certain the French do that and have another name for it…), as it was hard to cut the pieces without squashing everything…you did a great job on that part, yours doesn’t look squished at all. Thanks for sharing!

  6. June 17, 2008 10:44 am

    I’m glad your ups outweighed your downs. It’s really beautiful. I love the light on the last slice photograph.

  7. June 17, 2008 10:50 am

    Stunning!

  8. June 17, 2008 11:10 am

    I like both: The plate and the slice, well done!
    Ulrike from Küchenlatein

  9. Tara permalink
    June 17, 2008 12:57 pm

    Wow…your ring came out great!!! The fillin looks amazin and your ganache is perfect!

  10. June 17, 2008 1:01 pm

    i swear, one of these weeks i hope my pics will be half as nice as yours…why must you make me look sooo bad? great job, girl – keep it up!

  11. June 17, 2008 1:09 pm

    Lovely job! It looks great!

  12. June 17, 2008 1:20 pm

    That looks yummy!! I bet it was just as good without the sour cream..peppermint whipped cream sounds fab on it’s own.

  13. June 17, 2008 1:55 pm

    Looks just beautiful!

  14. June 17, 2008 2:12 pm

    Your ring looks beautiful! Just like Dorie’s! What a terrific job!

  15. June 17, 2008 5:37 pm

    What a beautiful ring! It looks delicious!

  16. June 17, 2008 6:45 pm

    looks gorgeous!

  17. June 17, 2008 6:51 pm

    You really did a beautiful job!

  18. June 17, 2008 7:37 pm

    The puffy ring is so pretty and I love that plate!

  19. June 17, 2008 8:42 pm

    Oh your ring looks fabulous and so pretty on the plate!

  20. June 17, 2008 10:07 pm

    Looks great! wonderful job and photos!

  21. June 17, 2008 10:51 pm

    Wow, your ring looks perfect and I love the look of the cream! Great job- it looks so delicious!

  22. amanda permalink
    June 17, 2008 11:26 pm

    Oh wow, your ring looks amazing!

  23. June 17, 2008 11:32 pm

    So pretty! I couldn’t find mint, either. What’s up with that?

  24. June 17, 2008 11:58 pm

    that is really lovely!

  25. June 18, 2008 12:05 am

    That looks amazingly delicious! Yummy!!

  26. June 18, 2008 12:13 am

    A lot of people seem to have struggled with the sour cream, and I’m not sure exactly what it adds. I intend to skip it.

    Great job!

  27. June 18, 2008 12:16 am

    beautiful cream puff ring! i had some issues w/the mint cream as well….. after adding the creme fraiche it was super runny…funny though, as i dumped it into a tupperware, hoping to find another use for it soon…just checked on it now and it’s all thickened up! guess it just needed more time in the fridge…..

  28. June 18, 2008 2:38 am

    Beautiful ring! I love this interpretation that Dorie had of a Paris-Brest and peppermint and chocolate are just great together!

  29. June 18, 2008 2:56 am

    yum! sorry the sour cream didn’t work out, but gorgeous photos! :)

  30. June 18, 2008 11:50 am

    Your ring looks great!

  31. June 18, 2008 12:57 pm

    You’d never know it was your first time working with pâte à choux! Great job!

  32. June 19, 2008 12:05 am

    Looks delish!

  33. June 19, 2008 2:49 am

    That’s some beautiful choux. And with mint whipped cream who would miss the sour cream! It looks absolutely lovely!

  34. June 19, 2008 9:23 am

    Your ring is gorgeous!

  35. June 20, 2008 1:17 pm

    Wow that came out fabulous! I was so upset I could not participate this week, I really wanted to try my hand at pate a choux.

  36. June 22, 2008 5:36 pm

    You’ve done a fabulous job, your puff pastry ring, looks picture perfect!

  37. Janet permalink
    June 23, 2008 10:08 pm

    Just gorgeous. I love your pictures of the process. I never think to take them when I’m baking — just at the end before the treat gets gobbled up.

  38. April 15, 2009 8:55 am

    Hey, nice tips. I’ll buy a glass of beer to that person from that forum who told me to go to your site :)

Thoughts?

