Skip to content

TWD Rewind: Almost Fudge Gateau

May 20, 2008

This week the chosen recipe for TWD is Traditional Madeleines on pages 166-168 chosen by Tara of Smells Like Home, but since so many of us do not own a Madeleine pan, we were given the opportunity to instead bake one of the past recipes we may have missed. I do not have a Madeleine pan and have been dying to make Dorie’s Almost Fudge Gateau, so I jumped at the chance! My apologies to Tara. Please go visit her site and all the other TWD sites, as I’m sure their Madeleines are gorgeous!

Another bow to Dorie, I love this recipe! The Almost Fudge Gateau really is almost fudge, which is exactly what B said without even knowing its correct title! :) The recipe was fairly simple but for some reason I made it difficult. I had to make it twice because I thought I knew more than I do. (Imagine that!) ;) The first time I made the gateau I skipped the parchment paper and oiled the pan instead of buttered it thinking it would be fine. I do this all the time to save a little material and perhaps help my arteries a bit. Nope. The cake stuck right to the bottom of the pan. It was so moist, there was no helping it. I just kind of scraped it off onto the plate and that’s how we ate it, with two forks. It was delicious, but not very pretty. The second time I made the gateau I used butter to butter the pan and I even buttered the parchment paper. Perfect. It came right out of the pan and the paper peeled off without a problem. The only issue the second time was that I thought I would add some white chocolate over the dark chocolate glaze. Notice in my photo, white chocolate, absent. That’s because I caused it to seize in the microwave. I can use a double boiler (in my case a stainless steel bowl over a simmering pan) like no one’s business, but every time I try to melt chocolate in the microwave it’s a disaster. I have a friend with a great fear of microwaves. Perhaps there’s a good reason for that.
Anyway, I went ahead without the white chocolate and the gateau is less colorful but still appealing. For the glaze I used a chocolate (organic, fair trade) with nibs. The crunch of the nibs in the glaze was a nice addition the the cake’s fudgey texture.

Almost Fudge Gateau
From Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours

5 large eggs

9 ounces bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped (I use organic/F-T)

1 cup sugar

5 Tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into chunks

2 Tablespoons coffee or water

1/3 cup all purpose flour (organic)

pinch of salt (fine sea salt)

Getting Ready Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter a 9-inch spring form pan (my pan is 9 1/4 inch), line the bottom with parchment paper, butter the paper, dust the inside of the pan with flour and tap out the excess. Place the pan on a baking sheet covered with parchment or a silicone mat.

Separate the eggs, putting the whites in a mixer bowl or other large bowl and the yolks in a small bowl.

Set a heatproof bowl (stainless steel) over a saucepan of simmering water and add the chocolate, sugar, butter and coffee. Stir occasionally until the chocolate and butter are melted; the sugar may be grainy and that’s fine. Transfer the bowl to the counter and let the mixture sit for three minutes.

Using a rubber spatula, stir in the yolks one by one, then fold in the flour.

Working with the whisk attachment of the mixer or hand mixer, beat the egg whites with the pinch of salt until they hold firm but glossy peaks. Using the spatula, stir about one quarter of the beaten whites into the batter, then gently fold in the rest. Scrape the batter into the pan and jiggle the pan from side to side a couple of times to even the batter.

Bake for 35- 45 minutes (40 in my oven), or until the cake has risen evenly ( it might rise around the edges and you’ll think it’s done, but give it a few minutes more and the center will puff too) and the top has firmed (it will probably be cracked) and doesn’t shimmy when tapped; a thin knife inserted into the center should come out just slightly streaked with chocolate. Transfer the cake to a cooling rack and let the cake rest for 5 to 10 minutes.

Run a blunt knife gently around the edges of the cake and remove the sides of the pan. Carefully turn the cake over onto a rack and remove the pan bottom and parchment paper. Invert the cake onto another rack and cool to room temperature right side up. As the cake cools, it may sink.

For the Glaze

4 ounces bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped (I used organic/F-T, with nibs)

1/2 cup heavy cream

2 teaspoons light corn syrup

First, turn the cooled cake over onto another rack so you’ll be glazing the flat bottom, and place the rack over a baking sheet lined with parchment paper to catch any drips. I didn’t place mine over parchment paper, so as not to waste it. I can wipe up drips with a dishcloth just fine.

Put the chocolate in a small heatproof bowl.

Melt the chocolate over a pan of simmering water or in a microwave oven- the chocolate should be just melted and warm, but not hot. Meanwhile, bring the cream to a boil in a small saucepan. Pour the hot cream over the chocolate and stir very gently with a rubber spatula until the mixture is smooth and shiny Stir in the corn syrup.

Pour the glaze over the cake and smooth the tip with a long metal icing spatula. Don’t worry if the glaze drips unevenly down the sides of the cake, it will just add to its charm. Allow the glaze to set at room temperature or, if you’re impatient, slip the cake into the fridge for about 20 minutes. If the glaze dulls in the fridge, just give it a little gently heat from a hairdryer.

We absolutely loved this gateau! It tastes even more rich than it looks! I would suggest having it with a cup of coffee (as I did for breakfast) or a glass of milk because plain old water just isn’t going to wash this down!

Oh! …and just a reminder, there is still time to enter the CKC May Give-Away. All you need is a blog. It’s simple (and FREE). So get your fingers moving and enter now!

Also, everything in my shop has been marked-down (notice I am no longer matting the prints). Please go check it out!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2008 9:32 am

    This was one of my favorite desserts from TWD so far! Glad you enjoyed it!

  2. May 20, 2008 9:36 am

    Oh MAN that looks ridiculously rich! I’ll have to make this recipe for a birthday, or find some other excuse to try it out.

  3. May 20, 2008 12:03 pm

    Whoa, this looks intensely good. I might have to do a Dorie Rewind myself.

  4. May 20, 2008 12:35 pm

    This cake freezes as well as cheesecake too! It’s almost even better like that, lol. Yours looks so pretty!

  5. May 20, 2008 1:11 pm

    That was my first TWD! Yum!

  6. May 20, 2008 1:21 pm

    Oh my this looks delicious! I am going to have to try this one!

  7. May 20, 2008 2:27 pm

    I missed this one too so I definitely wanna try it. Great job!
    Clara @ I♥food4thought

  8. May 20, 2008 3:18 pm

    I really liked this recipe when we tried it earlier. Glad you enjoyed it too. I didn’t make the Madelines this week either I chose the Quintuple Chocolate Brownies, though mine were more Triple Chocolate, but I like the end result! :)

  9. kdgreen permalink
    May 20, 2008 4:00 pm

    I almost did this one as well. I did the quintuple chocolate brownies – definitely worth a try. I will definitely put this one on my to do list.

  10. May 20, 2008 4:06 pm

    wow, this gateau looks decadent! i bet it tasted soo good!

  11. May 20, 2008 4:07 pm

    Ah… the gateau was my introduction to the world of TWD. Great job!

  12. May 20, 2008 7:48 pm

    I was wondering if anyone would make the gateau! I almost made it but went with the gooey chocolate cakes instead. Your gateau looks delicious!

  13. May 20, 2008 7:53 pm

    Oh, the fudgey goodness! Looks delicious!

  14. May 20, 2008 9:58 pm

    Mmmm… I still haven’t made it to this one yet, but I want to really bad now! Yummmm!

  15. May 20, 2008 10:02 pm

    yum! it’s so sinfully rich and decadent isn’t it?! it looks great, w/o the white chocolate! no worries

  16. amanda permalink
    May 20, 2008 10:06 pm

    Oh wow. That picture made my mouth water. It looks amazing!

    Sucks that you had to make it twice, but the good part is that you got to eat it twice too.

  17. May 20, 2008 11:30 pm

    Sounds like my kind of breakfast! Chocolate cake and coffee. Yum!

  18. May 21, 2008 8:58 am

    Yum, this does look fudgey. Thanks for the tip about the parchment. I’ve had trouble with white chocolate before too. The good thing is you got to eat two yummy cakes!

  19. May 21, 2008 2:16 pm

    Oh.my.gosh.

  20. May 21, 2008 3:01 pm

    Wow I’m a chocoholic and that is calling my name;)

  21. May 21, 2008 3:47 pm

    yum, it looks so rich and delicious :) i love seeing all of the past TWD recipes this week, it makes me want to go back and try them all!

  22. May 21, 2008 5:49 pm

    I joined after this recipe was featured, but you’ve inspired me to give it a redux, it looks like a chocolate lovers dream!

  23. May 22, 2008 6:09 am

    This looks delicious, great job! I decided to do the rewind too and made the Russian Grandmother’s Apple Pie-Cake.

  24. May 22, 2008 10:19 am

    That looks so yummy!

  25. May 23, 2008 11:09 am

    I really want to try this recipe, alas, there aren’t enough hours in a day for all the baking I want to do! :)

  26. May 27, 2008 11:31 pm

    I HAVE to try this one.. Is there any way though to make it using a bit less sugar and maybe substituting something else (I hate the artificial sweetners, vey bad)

Thoughts?

