Skip to content

TWD: Gooey Chocolate Cake

April 1, 2008

Notice to the right of my screen, in the sidebar, there is now a “Tuesdays with Dorie” badge. 
Go ahead, click it.

Our recipe this week is Gooey Chocolate Cakes (pgs 261-262), chosen by Leigh of Lemon Tartlet.  Since there is not a picture accompanying the recipe in the book, I half expected the result to be something like a lava cake.  Nope.  The result was not a lava cake, it was a gooey cake…  A moist, delicious, sinful, chocolaty, gooey cake (almost like an under-cooked brownie but much better).
We had these cakes when my mother and her husband came over for dinner.  Needless to say, I believe they left impressed with my culinary mastery.  ;)

I chose to make a blackberry sauce to put over our cakes.  I based it on the raspberry coulis recipe in the back of Baking.  I used frozen blackberries because fresh raspberries are still pretty expensive/out of season around here and I couldn’t find frozen raspberries.  I’ll include that recipe after the Gooey Chocolate Cakes.


Notice that the fork in this photo is not pristine and photo-perfect.  That is because I licked it.  ;)

Gooey Chocolate Cakes
Source: Dorie Greenspan Baking: From My Home to Yours

1/3 cup all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
¼ teaspoon salt
5 ounces bittersweet chocolate,
•4 ounces coarsely chopped,
•1 ounce very finely chopped
1 stick (8 tablespoons) unsalted butter, cut into 8 pieces
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1 large egg yolk, at room temperature
6 tablespoons of sugar

1.  Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. butter (or spray – it’s easier) 6 cups of a regular-size muffin pan, preferably a disposable aluminum foil pan, dust the insides with flour and tap out the excess. I used foil cupcake liners.  I thought they would be easier to unmold this way (I may be right).  Also, since they were lined, there was no buttering/flouring required.  Put the muffin pan on a baking sheet.
2.  Sift the flour, cocoa and salt together.  I did not sift but stirred lightly with a fork.
3.  Set a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of gently simmering water, put the coarsely chopped chocolate and the butter in the bowl and stir occasionally over the simmering water just until they are melted – you don’t want them to get so hot that the butter separates. Remove the bowl from the pan of water.
4.  In a large bowl, whisk the eggs and yolk until homogeneous. Add the sugar and whisk until well blended, about 2 minutes. Add the dry ingredients and, still using the whisk, stir (don’t beat) them into the eggs. Little by little, and using a light hand, stir in the melted chocolate and butter.
5.  Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups and sprinkle the finely chopped chocolate over the batter.
6.  Bake the cakes for 13 minutes.  Mine took exactly 13 minutes, even in my crazy oven.  Which reminds me that I recently bought an oven thermometer that I didn’t bother to use.
7.  Transfer them, still on the baking sheet, to a rack to cool for 3 minutes. (There is no way to test that these cakes are properly baked, because the inside remains liquid.)
8.  Line a cutting board with a silicone baking mat or parchment or wax paper, and, after the 3-minute rest, unmold the cakes onto the board. Use a wide metal spatula to lift the cakes onto dessert plates.  Since my cakes were individually baked, I was able to unmold them directly onto the dessert plates.

Blackberry Sauce:
adapted from Dorie’s raspberry coulis
approx. 1/3 bag partially frozen blackberries
3 tbs sugar (I used fair trade organic cane sugar)
approx. 1/4 C water

1.  Place blackberries in blender and pulse until nearly smooth.
Add sugar and pulse until incorporated.
2.  Slowly add water and pulse until you reach desired consistency.
3.  Drizzle over warm Gooey Chocolate Cake.
4.  Impress your family with your culinary mastery.

* I would suggest straining the seeds out of this sauce.  Since I do not own the equipment to preform such a task, I did not.  If you don’t either, no big deal.  My guests didn’t seem upset.

Oh!  I also want to add that I ate one of these cold (well, room temperature) the next day and it was still amazing.  It was kind of like eating a truffle with a delicious cake coating rather than a hard chocolate coating.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2008 3:40 pm

    Mmmm. Blackberry sauce. Brilliant!

  2. April 1, 2008 3:43 pm

    Yummm….blackberry sauce! I’m going to have a try that! Great job!

  3. April 1, 2008 3:50 pm

    My mouth is seriously watering looking at your sauce and reading the description. Yum!

  4. April 1, 2008 4:02 pm

    Ooooh, that sounds so good with blackberry!! How yummy is that!?!

  5. April 1, 2008 4:13 pm

    Blackberry! Yessssssssssssss. Good one to try out on the mom, too. ;)

  6. April 1, 2008 4:16 pm

    Great looking cakes!!

  7. April 1, 2008 4:17 pm

    Fabu idea about the cupcake liners! That blackberry sauce looks mighty tasty. I can see why you licked your fork! Great job!
    Clara @ I♥food4thought

  8. April 1, 2008 7:32 pm

    Love the blackberry sauce idea! Yummy! So glad you could bake to impress!

  9. April 1, 2008 7:36 pm

    Your cakes look lovely!

  10. April 1, 2008 8:26 pm

    The blackberry sauce was a great idea, just a bit different, which is always good. They look delicious.

  11. April 1, 2008 8:31 pm

    hahaha…thanks for sharing the story behind the not-so-pristine fork.

    Blackberry sauce? I’ve never had blackberries, but your pictures look so delicious. I just have to try them sometime soon.

  12. judi0044 permalink
    April 1, 2008 8:31 pm

    So far I believe you are the first TWD baker (that I have read tonight) that has stated this recipe is not a Lava type cake. I thought from the name it was, so was surprised when most other bakers commented they thought their cakes didn’t turn out like they thought they should. I think you’re right on in your comment. I also like that your comments appear in a different color and are so easy to pick up.

  13. April 1, 2008 8:33 pm

    Beautiful! I’m glad everyone enjoyed them!

  14. MOM permalink
    April 1, 2008 9:31 pm

    I was the company, and this was such a perfect desert with perfect coffee.. As a matter of fact, this is one we may try on our own!

  15. April 1, 2008 9:49 pm

    Love blackberries, great idea! (Gorgeous plate, btw!)

  16. April 2, 2008 4:42 am

    the sauce makes the cake so exciting! something I would indulge in!

  17. April 2, 2008 8:05 am

    LOL! I’m known for sampling my goodies pre-photo op! I bet the blackberry sauce was divine, I am definitely going to add a some sort of berry coulis to the mix, next time!

  18. April 2, 2008 10:42 am

    your cake looks absolutely delicious, great pic!

  19. April 2, 2008 10:49 am

    That sauce looks fantastic. After seeing the assortment of sauces everybody used, I think I’m going to have to make these again and serve them with a fruit sauce instead of (or maybe in addition to…) ice cream. Yum!

  20. April 3, 2008 9:19 am

    With balckberry sauce? YUM!

  21. April 14, 2008 4:21 pm

    i got more of a lava cake… i think the key is the baking time. my cakes were larger so baking time was adequate …i think those who had the less gooey center overbaked it. just a guess

    i love the idea of a blackberry sauce -mmmm! :) great job!

Thoughts?

