Skip to content

Update: Granola, Extra Crunchy

March 31, 2008

A little while ago I posted this granola recipe.  Recently (last weekend), I revised the recipe.  Ok… actually I improvised and this resulted in a revision.
I was making the granola and found I only had 2 cups of oats (as opposed to 4 cups).  Instead of skipping the granola all together or going to the store for more oats, I improvised.  I replaced the 2 cups of oats with 2 cups of almonds.  Holy crap.  I’ll never go back (maybe).  This “new” granola is sooo good.  I guess you would have to be a nut-lover to think so, but I definitely do! 
Another change I made was baking temp.  This time, I baked the granola at 375°F instead of 300°F.  The result was the same toasted delicious taste, just a tad more quickly.  :-)
I keep meaning to get a photo to go with this post but I haven’t been feeling well…  We also seem to have a limited supply of daylight lately.  I promise to try Wednesday (my day off), provided there’s any left and I’m not in bed.
Oh and just so I don’t totally leave you hanging, the new recipe looks like this:

Homemade Granola:
2 C oats
3/4 C honey
1/4 C molasses
1/2 C cooking oil (I used veg.)
2 C whole almonds (unsalted)
2 C sunflower seeds (unsalted, shelled)
1 C chopped walnuts
2 C craisins
2 C coconut (flaked, unsweetened)

1.  Preheat oven to 375° F. 
Mix oats, nuts, and sunflower seeds in large mixing bowl.  Stir in oil.  Stir in honey and then molasses.
2.  Place oat and nut mixture in a baking pan… preferably not a cookie sheet.  I use a 9×13 cake pan.
Bake at 375°F, stirring every 10-15 min. until granola browns evenly.

3.  Remove from oven and place back in mixing bowl.  Let cool slightly but not so much that is has just hardened into one giant mass.  Stir in crasins and coconut.

This recipe makes enough granola to fill a 1 gallon size freezer bag.

* I think it would be tasty to add a bag (12 oz.) of dark chocolate chips or chopped up chunks to this granola… after it has cooled completely so that the chocolate does not melt.

Oh and just as before, this granola can be enjoyed in a variety of ways:  on yogurt, with milk (as a cereal), warmed up with milk (like you would oatmeal), and straight out of the bag.

Wednesday, 4.02.2008:
Update to the Update:
As you can see, I managed to save a tiny bit of granola and there is now a photo for your viewing pleasure.  :)  It looks pretty much like the other recipe, except that now it borders on trail mix (with so many nuts and the lack of oats).  Call it whatever you like, it still tastes good.  Enjoy!
P.S.  I polished off everything in this photo immediately after the photo-shoot.  mmmm!  ;)

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 31, 2008 9:38 pm

    Mmmmmmmmmm….I wish my hubby weren’t allergic to nuts! I LOVE em and this sounds too damn good!

    Carrie

Thoughts?

