Skip to content

Quiche

October 1, 2007

So here is another first. I had never even eaten quiche, let alone made it until yesterday. I had a left-over pie crust in the freezer from my apple pie and since I have been wanting to try my hand at making a quiche I thought hey why not now? It’s a lazy Sunday and I do happen to have a bunch of ingredients lying around… (Ok, I’ll admit I bought the bacon specifically for the quiche.) To begin, I did some internet reading about quiche and it’s various incarnations. I decided to use this recipe as a guide. I would not call what I made Quiche Lorraine at all but quiche none the less.

Quiche 
about 8 servings

1 C milk (I used 1%)
5 eggs, beaten
2 C shredded cheese (I used 1 C sharp cheddar, 1 C mozzarela)
2 tbs flour
8 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
1 small onion, chopped
1/3 lb (very small) head broccoli, cut into small pieces
S&P (to taste)
1 (9 inch) unbaked pastry crust

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Roll out crust and place in pie dish. Pre-bake crust for about 5 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool.
2. Cook bacon until it is crisp. Let drain on a papertowel and then crumble when it is cool. Save a small amount of the bacon grease in the pan.
3. Cook chopped onions and broccoli in saved bacon grease. Put aside. Toss cheese with flour in a medium sized bowl.
4. Sprinkle bottom of pre-baked pastry crust with 1/2 (equal to 4 slices) of the bacon and 1/2 (1 C) of the cheese.
5. Add milk and eggs to remaining cheese in bowl. Salt and pepper, to taste. Whisk mixture until blended. Add remaining bacon crumbles, broccoli and onion. Whisk again. Pour into pastry crust.
6. Cover edges of pastry crust with foil. Bake at 350 degrees for about 35 minutes (until egg begins to set). Remove foil and continue to bake another 10 minutes, until crust is golden and top of quiche begins to brown.
Oh and by the way, I can probably count on my fingers the number of times I’ve cooked bacon in my life. I like bacon but I feel guilty eating all that grease! Anyway, I had forgotten how dangerous it is! Yikes! Fortunately, I survived and can now tell the tale of my first quiche. It was delicious.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April permalink
    October 1, 2007 2:28 pm

    I love quiche, and this looks delicious!

  2. MrsPresley permalink
    October 1, 2007 11:41 pm

    isn’t bacon great? :) i think it adds great flavor to quiches…

Thoughts?

