Skip to content

Nutless Turtle Brownies

August 30, 2007

I was unsure about this brownie experiment. Now, I’m glad I tried it! The chocolate part of this brownie is based on Kayte’s recipe (the rest is my own imagination) but I have deviated enough so I feel I should just post the recipe how I made it, rather than just noting changes (so recipe users are not confused).

Nutless Turtle Brownies:
Makes about 16 brownies.
For the Chocolate Part:
3/4 C margarine, melted
1 1/2 C sugar
2 eggs
3/4 C flour
1/2 C unsweetened cocoa
For the Cheesecake Top:
8 oz cream cheese, softened
1 egg
1/4 C sugar
You will also need:
caramel topping, about 1/2 jar (I used Smuckers)

1. Grease 8×8 baking pan and preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. For Chocolate Brownie Part (bottom):
Blend butter and sugar. Beat in eggs, one at a time.
Combine cocoa and flour.
Blend dry to wet.
3. Spread brownie batter in bottom of prepared baking pan.
Spread caramel topping over batter. Make sure to leave an edge (to prevent too much of the topping “leaking” out).
4. For Cheesecake Top:
Mix cream cheese, egg, and sugar.
Spread cream cheese mixture on top of caramel layer.
5. Use a knife to gently “swirl” layers.
6. Bake for about 1 hour at 350 degrees. Let cool and cut into squares.

*I feel these brownies could benefit from nuts (provided you like nuts). I would place pecans within the caramel layer.
~*~ I entered this in the BrownieBabe of the Month! Wish me luck! ~*~

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Elly permalink
    August 31, 2007 12:28 am

    Mmm, delicious! I will take one, please…with some extra caramel sauce on top :)

  2. Jigginjessica permalink
    August 31, 2007 12:56 am

    Wow! These look amazing! Thanks so much for sharing!

  3. Intisar permalink
    August 31, 2007 1:18 am

    Those look great! You should enter them in the Browniebabe of the Month event.

  4. Kayte permalink
    August 31, 2007 3:28 am

    they look incredible!! i need to try this! and i promise i’m gonna post my 8 fun factoids about me. i think i’ve been tagged like 5 times now :-)

  5. Carrie permalink
    August 31, 2007 12:42 pm

    Those look SUPER yummy! I love brownies!

  6. Tartelette permalink
    September 11, 2007 9:26 pm

    They look mouth watering! Good things abou the (non) nuts part for those days we’re out!

Thoughts?

