Skip to content

School

September 4, 2013

30::365::146

Today is the first day of school for the public schools in our area.  Like many other parents of young children, I’m thinking a lot today about the education choices B and I are making for our own children.  Before we started a family, I never much thought about the choices we would have to make when it came to our children’s education.  It was simple.  Most kids go to public school.  Rich kids go to private school.  Weirdos homeschool.

While I was pregnant with O, I did what I always do when embarking on a new adventure.  I read.  I read a lot.  I read about public school, homeschool, Waldorf school, Montessori school and so forth.  The sudden reality of so many different choices was a bit overwhelming.  Overwhelming and exciting.

Initially, we thought we would homeschool.  (Weirdos!)

As O grew, we watched and took our cues from him.  We decided not to commit ourselves to any one category, to just take it as it comes, year by year, child by child.

About six months ago, it became clear that O would benefit from some time outside the home, learning with other children.  We looked into many options and thought we had a solid plan. Then that plan fell through.

Now, we have a new plan, and we couldn’t be more delighted!  Hooray for choices!

O will be starting half days at a local Montessori school next week.  I don’t think we could have found a better fit for his particular learning style.  I’m both nervous and excited.  This is a new chapter in our lives to be sure.  I can’t wait to see our boy thriving in his new environment but I’m also a little sad to be letting go, even if it’s just a little bit.

Education choices are such a personal decision.  I can’t help but be curious about the decisions other families are making.  What choices have you made regarding your child’s education?  How did you “get there”?

A couple of education posts that popped up yesterday that I enjoyed are here and here, if you want to take a look.  (both unschool/homeschool)

Update (9/5/13):  A few more enjoyable posts here, here, and here.  I love reading all the different perspectives!

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Mama Heart |

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 328 other followers

